You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: We Are Called Legion, for We Are Many

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

their scent mingled with the scent of mangled flesh

Your poetic mind comes through strongly in your prose, which I always enjoy.

but he welcomed the pain, and when they finally stopped, he cursed

This line alone gives a full understanding of the emotional plight of your MC.

While I agree it could use some structural integrity for clarity's sake, the writing is visceral and reflective of the horror of war and its aftermath. The juxtaposition of a child playing an innocent game increases the discomfort delivered as opposed to a story only of war.

Sort:  

Your poetic mind comes through strongly in your prose, which I always enjoy.

This is one of my earliest pieces in English, so it's interesting that it came through. Though that originally read "intermingled," as I did do a small editing pass. It was interesting to see how my English did in fact improve in the years since I first wrote that story :)

And yeah, the juxtaposition combine with the title to say, "This is us, this is humanity." And it's not about anyone being a monster, just being in pain, just being human.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68236.06
ETH 3737.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64