Hair o' the Dog - Part 2 of 3

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

Slum.jpg


Start with Part 1


It's just ahead. A beacon of light in the darkness. Surrounded by the crumbling structures of lives surrendered to the desolation of this "neighborhood," our home gleams like a gemstone in a quarry of clay.

She had made it so. Refused to be defeated by the decay around her. Refused to succumb to the absolute dejection on all sides. Roses climb trellises she had sunk herself along the small, neat porch. A swing hung where she might sit of an evening, as though there was anything worth seeing out here.

I'd scoffed at her efforts. Called them 'pretense.' Bristled at her insistence that we stand out as some example of how much could be done with so little. In my heart and with my words I accused her of thinking herself too good for this place. Too good for me. But it was a lie I told myself. The truth is, she was too good for me, but she was the one person who couldn’t see it.

I mount the steps. They are noiseless and solid thanks to the shims she put in last spring. And I’d hated her for it.

I don’t understand what the big deal is, I’ve used a hammer before you know

The big deal is you fucking humiliate me in front of the whole neighborhood. What do you think it looks like? My wife out there with a tool bag and lumber, like there’s no man in this house?

Of course, the “man” in this house never would have done what she did and she knew it. But she never said so. She never would.

I’m still mystified as I enter the neatly arranged space of the living room. Lace curtains, fluffy pillows, floral prints assail me. Knives to my heart. How many hours of the little time she had on this earth had been spent in the creation of this welcoming, warm place? And why? Who ever saw this oasis but the two of us?

Her parents stopped coming long ago. The frost of my demeanor overwhelming any warmth they might have found in the home of their only child. She never complained. She just went to see them on her own, in their world. I declined every invitation, telling myself it was because they hated me. Because I couldn't give her the life they had with its cobbled pathways across manicured acres.

And its safety.

I sink into the embrace of the recliner she picked out for me. Bought with her money, of course. I could refuse to move to a better, wealthier place on her dime, but I couldn’t stop her from bringing better here.

My cell phone is on the side table, voicemail alert displayed. I know it’ll be the vet. Again. They wanted me to go pick it up yesterday but I didn’t bother. Not going to bother today either. Or ever. I wonder what happens when an animal is abandoned like that. Is it like leaving your car impounded? Will bills for storage just pile up? Will they eventually auction it off?

Of course not. Unwanted cars have value. Unwanted animals… not so much.

I shake off the image of a miniature gas chamber and grab my wallet from the table, extracting my bank card. I haven’t earned an income in a month and all I’m using to kill myself is hers, but I comfort myself that it’s the best money she ever spent on my sorry ass. Slipping the card into my back pocket I head for the door, but pull up short when I spy the sleek, black silhouette of what can only be my in-laws' Jaguar pulling up to the curb.

When the driver’s door opens, I see it is her mother. And that she is alone. She straightens to her full height, spine rigid. The cream pantsuit she wears practically glows against the flawless ebony skin her daughter also boasted. I expect her to come straight to the door, and I’m contemplating hiding, calculating the odds she has a key of her own, and guesstimating the likelihood she’d use it if so, when she turns instead to the rear driver’s side door. Opening it, she leans in.

Fear fills me. I am suddenly certain she has brought either a weapon, or some tragic box of memories of my dead wife. Her dead child.

As I grip the door knob and prepare to face the woman whose daughter I took from her, I hope to god she has a gun.


To be continued...


Many thanks to @mariannewest...

...and her wonderful #freewrite group, for yesterday's fantastic prompt: Day 75: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: dog hair which inspired this story. Check out the incredible #freewrite project and either join in or show some much deserved love to the many terrific creative folks involved!

I hope this entertained and I thank you so much for reading. If you feel it's merited, please upvote. If you think others might enjoy this, kindly resteem. And if you want to know what dog hair has to do with a broken and guilt-ridden man, follow for the rest of the story, or maybe check out some of my recent fiction!

Regret
Annie's Surprise
Toothache


Image courtesy of Pexels on Pixabay



Interested in a relaxed place to kick back and chill with other writers and creative types? Check out The Isle of Write by clicking below!

IOWLOGO-225.png

Sort:  

I remember what I told you of that photo, when I first saw you post it. My last girlfriend used to live someplace where the look outside the window was basically that.

And it killed me, inside, each and every time I came to her, or left, or looked outside the window.

Where we live has a deep effect on our soul. Is he living here because he hates himself, or does he hate himself because he's living here?

The real question to me, at this part of the story, is not why his wife married him. That's not too hard to figure out, especially if you look at my post on compersion, where I argue all love is self-love, and that self-love encompasses all love.

No, the question is why he married her. Because he doesn't love himself, and it's unclear he ever did. And if he never loved himself, why would he accept another's love for him? And that is probably yet another reason he does not want the dog to come, because he's afraid of his wife's memory of love, and of someone who might love him still, though he thinks he does not deserve it, and never had.

P.S. For our dark non-hero, "a quarry of crap" would've probably been a more apt phrasing, I think.

P.P.S. I can tell the mother is bringing the dog. To save him. Him being both dog and son in law, for her daughter's sake.

I love and am endlessly flattered that you took these things away from your reading. They have answers, but not ones to be told here ;)

Not gonna lie, would be thankful to know what you meant here, exactly :3

What did I take that is touching or flattering, in my reading? Genuine question, just to help me understand people (and you) better, and feedback, I guess.

No, the question is why he married her. Because he doesn't love himself, and it's unclear he ever did. And if he never loved himself, why would he accept another's love for him? And that is probably yet another reason he does not want the dog to come, because he's afraid of his wife's memory of love, and of someone who might love him still, though he thinks he does not deserve it, and never had.

These questions. They’re the questions I asked myself writing this, and at other times in my life which may have informed the piece 😉.

That you came away asking them as well feels like a triumph 🎉

Well darn @jrhughes.... This is freaking incredible.

Really? I worry it's too "internal." I'm looking forward to the final chapter tomorrow: confrontation, decisions, resolutions, lol. I'm glad you liked it, I just couldn't keep going any further with it today and it seemed like a good stopping point. I hope the end pays off well for the readers :)

Well - internal wounds/struggles are the more devastatingly permanent ones, you know? You did it incredibly well here. Didn't seem too-dwelly. And your deliciously apt descriptions of seemingly simple things and objects are so very alive - I'm there.

PS: I'd also posit that forgiveness or lack thereof can too constitute an arc, Jess. :-)

Thank you so much! Too dwelly is exactly what I feared. I feel better now 😅

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62753.87
ETH 2445.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67