Journeys Prologue p4

in #fiction7 years ago

"Aye, I'm here." A voice called out from the back of the building. "Where else would I be, ya backslider?" The old priest retorted as he moved into the light.

Rale rolled his eyes, "Oh, I dunno. Mayhaps out there, tending a flock, like ya used to do." He threw back, then offered a half-respectful, "Good day, Father."

"Good day, indeed," The priest grumbled. "If it isn't the goodman Rale," he looked over at Mary, "And his very beautiful and much nicer Wife." He took a swipe back. "What brings ya here?"

Rale opened his mouth, but before he could speak, Mary uncovered their son and let the priest get a good look.

"You old coot, why didn't you tell me that you were a father?" Altin asked as he reached out and touched the child's forehead. He winced slightly as the babe made a grab for his fingers and squeezed. "He's cute, and strong." He continued as the child jerked on his aged fingers. "Shame on you Rale Shepherd, coming to church only to receive the church's blessings."

Rale lowered his head as if under great weight. "Would the church have me fake what I think, or would she have me live by my beliefs."

The Priest looked up and shook his head, while Mary carefully reached up and rested one hand on Rale's shoulder.

"Ah, my boy, we don't always have to agree on everything. The church is a family." Altin said. "We would never force you to act against your conscience." He gently brushed his fingertip across the babe's forehead. "Why don't we bless this child?"


If you liked what you've read, please feel free to resteem it. Upvotes are also helpful, and comments are always welcome.
I really do want to hear what you think.


Previous page
Next Page

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55885.64
ETH 2358.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31