Journeys Chapter One p20

in #fiction7 years ago

After each man had eaten, he gave them their assignments. He placed ten men on each side of the camp, each twenty feet from the next, facing outwards away from the central fires. Of the last ten, he placed two at his father's tent, two at the Shroud Master's tent, two at the Chalice Master's tent, two at the Crown Master's tent, and two at the supply tent. Before dismissing the men, he said, “And I will make hourly checks of the perimeter.”

True to his word, Jaymes made perimeter checks, once an hour, and during one of those checks, he heard a noise. As silently as he could move in chain-mail, he cautiously moved toward the source of the noise. With one hand on the pommel of his sword, he advanced, until he discovered a young lady, crying. He peered at the kneeling figure, recognized her, and whispered, “Samantha? What's wrong?”

The crying woman was the daughter of Patryg's adjutant, the Arch Knight Garan, and more than that, she was the woman that he was going to marry someday. If she'll have me, he thought as he stepped closer.

The brunette looked up, guiltily, and whispered, “I'm scared.” After looking into his eyes, she continued, “I've been away from home before, but I've never been banished before.”

Brushing a tear from face, he gazed into her hazel eyes, “It's a first for me, as well.” He casually mentioned. “It'll be okay, I promise.” He comforted her as he leaned in and whispered, “I love you.”

“Thank you, Jaymes. I'll be okay, I think.” she whispered softly. "I'll see you in the morning.” She rose from her knees and hugged him tight.

Jaymes slipped an arm around her, holding her close for a moment. “We'd better be going before your father wonders where you are.” He grinned as he walked her back to her father's tent.

The young woman gave him a mischievous smile, “What's the worst he can do?” She leaned against him.

“Oh, I don't know …. He could make me repeat the last three months of training. He could order me drawn and quartered. He could make me guard the latrine.” He drolly stated.

Samantha giggled softly, “He wouldn't do that,” she paused thoughtfully, “At least I don't think he would.” She stated as they paused outside the tent. “Goodnight, domine me.” She whispered after kissing him.

“Bonume nocte, stella.” He replied as he watched her flounce into the tent.

(Domine Me, - My Lord. Bonume nocte, Stella – Good night, my bright star.)


If you like what you've read, feel free to follow me for more. If you enjoyed it, please consider up-voting it, and if you just want to torture someone, feel free to resteem it.


Previous page
Next page
Back to Beginning

Sort:  

@cmtzco has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

A very well written story, interesting characters growing more interesting as the story progresses. and I Like that you explain word meanings:

(Domine Me, - My Lord. Bonume nocte, Stella – Good night, my bright star.)

Those are nice to see. Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58635.35
ETH 3152.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44