Journeys Interlude2

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

On his eighteenth birthday, Iohn was in his room, gathering up his things and putting them into a carry pack.

"Iohn, what are you doing?" His sister asked from her perch on the side of his bed. Her liquid brown eyes followed his every move. Why is he gathering up his things? Is he leaving? she wondered.

The young man paused in what he was doing, and ran his fingers through his hair, and sighed, "I'm packing, Celia."

She mimicked his action, drawing her fingers through her flame red hair. "Why?"

Iohn paused, drawing in a slow breath. "I need to be on my own. I feel as if I'm suffocating here." He turned his gaze to the vista outside the bedroom window. "I feel trapped." He sat down beside her. "Do you know what I mean?" He slipped an arm around her, leaning his head into hers.

Out of all of his siblings, he felt closest to Celia. She had always seemed to understand him and that had helped.

Her arm slipped around him and she drew him close. "Will you be okay?" She asked, tears sparkling in the corner of her eyes.

"Yes, I will. I feel it in my heart." He whispered, gently brushing the tears away from her startling blue eyes.

Celia managed a smile, "You had better send me letters. I don't want to forget you." She knew that in some families, contact was lost and people were forgotten.

Iohn nodded, "I will. I'll send you stories of grand adventures." He promised. He let her go and finished his packing. After throwing the pack over his shoulder, he sighed, "I guess it's time, isn't it?"


If you liked what you've read, please feel free to resteem it. Upvotes are also helpful, and comments are always welcome.
I really do want to hear what you think.


Previous page

Chapter One

Sort:  

Thank you @joeyarnoldvn. Have you read the other pages in the series?
It's nice to hear what fans are thinking.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68244.61
ETH 2640.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69