Sort:  

Jip, still love this story. <--------------------...> this much. Looking forward to reading more of what comes from your mind, John! (^^,)

Thank you so much, Anike. I always look forward to your comments :)

Wishing I had some brilliant words but awed, all I come up with is this:
I love this story.

Cheers, Jon. Glad you liked it :)

Heh, somebody is going to get a space needle. (Lame Seattle joke, I know...never been there, so sue me!) Very good, very surprising story.

Thanks, Jeff!

The rats in this story are much bigger than some of your earlier tales.

Great continuation of the story here...looking for the rest soon!

Thanks for the story, I only just came across your comment at a post by @bryarose23 and checked your home page. I enjoyed reading this story, but the ending left me in doubt. Did dragonkind find Earth and hold a court case, charging Jake and (oh gosh! you never told us her name, apart from letting us know her surname is that of a motor vehicle tyre manufacturer). Poor girl.

Anyway, to return to the ending: Is it a court case and is it happening on Earth or on the planet of the dragons? Are they as careless of the rights of others as the one who was killed?

I hope you don't mind this kind of inquisition, but as a writer, I dream of others doing the same to me, whereas all I get is: I enjoyed your story. Keep writing or something like that.

I guess it is now time for me to move on to a more recent post of yours where I can also upvote.

The court case is on Earth. Or at least it is in my head. I don't think they like the idea of humans getting off of Earth under any circumstances and there is a hint of that within the brief meeting when Jake steps through the GAP. The two races appear to have some previous experience with one another that Humanity may have forgotten about but Dragonkind have not.
As to how this pans out and whether the rest of them are as careless as their dead friend? Well, that's another story that is, as yet, unwritten.
As for comments on your writing, have you considered joining The Writers' Block on Discord? They have a queue that you can drop your short story, or part of a longer piece, into and get constructive comments and edits on it.

Thanks for replying to my conjectures.

As for joining Writers' Block, I try to steer those I think have talent in that direction, but I'm not interested for me. My circumstances are a bit different. I have mostly stopped writing. I have spent 18 years writing a story, I am now in my mid seventies and came here to place my books on the blockchain, so that they survive beyond me. For me to achieve that, I estimate it will take me at least another five years.

Making my posts in small slices has opened me to seeing more of my errors and hopefully the blockchain versions will be better than the originals. Otherwise, what little time I have, I enjoy searching through the new posters; for discovering new to me talent is exciting. I try to give them a hand but then step away, but remain available if they want to speak to me, for I don't want to affect the way they write or think.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63219.83
ETH 2574.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78