You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Day in the Clouds (Chapter 3) - The Hours Between 0700 and 0800

in #fiction8 years ago

I read your post @jedau, but it's really outside my genre. I can say it's competently written, but beyond that I can't really say. I tried serializing a novel on here and stopped because I couldn't bear the meagre response. Even my longer short stories I now divide into two parts because most people want shorter posts. Your novel might do better on a blogging site, From your comments above I can see your frustration. I hope this helps :)

Sort:  

Thanks for the honesty, man. I've seen long-form prose succeeding here so it's not out of the realm of possibility, but maybe I just don't have enough pull to draw supporters in. No worries. I'll finish up this story here, but I'm looking elsewhere for the long term. The internet is huge, so I'm bound to find some place where my work would be supported. I guess Steemit's just not for me no matter how hard I try :)

Hey @jedau, I enjoyed the excerpt. Well-written and it took me a while to figure out the 'torture'. Well done.

I'm sorry you're not getting enough to help with your nephew's treatment. I would suggest putting the story together and publishing it on Amazon, Smashwords, iTunes etc. I'd also suggest a crowd-funding page too.
Keep posting here, but post your links here too so people who would like to support your efforts can do so in an even more direct manner.

Good Luck <3

Hey, Michelle. Thanks for the comment and the compliment! :D I'm glad (?) that it took you a while to figure out, I really wanted to tread the line between reality and fiction in this story. Actually, I had planned to crowdfund this project two years ago when I was conceptualizing it, but upon weighing all the factors, I opted not too. I had self-published a book in Amazon, Smashwords, etc 3 years ago which didn't perform so well, that's why I didn't want go that route until I figured out what I did wrong.

I chose Steemit because of all the kind gestures that people were throwing around. Plus, it wouldn't really cost anyone anything, just one measly vote for a day. My mistake was believing I was part of that circle of giving haha I had adjusted my expectations from before though, so I really should've seen this coming. Right now, I'm just going to squat here until I find a better place for me in the internet :D

Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment! I truly appreciate it :) The suggestions are noted, and the well wishes are treasured.

OK, I have a little insight to the self-publishing world - I am by no means an expert though so don't take this as a guarantee of success.

Get your book together, edit and proofread it as well as you can then put it up as an e-book on Amazon, Smashwords etc.

Connect with me via Twitter - @ShellGent and I'll retweet whenever I can. I'll also give your book a good shout-out on my other social media sites - again, no promises.

If you get a crowd-funding page sorted, I'll do the same for you on that with regards to shouting out to my own followers and friends.

The most important thing to do is get a few reviews going, so get copies of your book out to people who read the same genre and ask, beg, plead, cajole them for a review. If you ask if you can use their review elsewhere, let me know. I have a few places in mind where posting your reviews can get your name out there a little more.

One other piece of advice: Keep writing and KEEP POSTING on Steemit - both will help enormously.

Good Luck <3

Oh, wow! Thanks! I'm really grateful for the help. I might take you up on your offer, but for my first self-published book. I asked more than 50 people for a review, gave away even more free copies, but I've only received a small amount in return. When you see the number of reviews compared to the number of people I asked to review it, you'll see why I was traumatized from self-publishing lol

I'm currently refining it with a professional editor, but I'll tweet to you when a paperback version is available. I don't use Twitter nowadays anymore though, but my account is still there @jedau Don't mind the recent tweets, those are just auto-generated. Look at my tweets from before though and notice the lack of interaction from people haha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60453.64
ETH 2425.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48