The Mathematician - Original Short Prose Piece

in #fiction5 years ago

Image found on Pixabay

The Mathematician

"All my life I've worked with numbers," the mathematician said. He cleared his throat and continued, speaking slowly. "I've come to realize that by seeking endless answers to endless questions all my life I've only one question that really matters. But unfortunately I know the answer. I knew the answer before the question presented itself."
"What's the question?," the psychologist asked. The mathematician turned his head and looked out the window. "Is life worth living?"
"And your conclusion?"
"No," the mathematician said. "Life is not worth living. Not when you lost the only one who gave you a purpose to live. Life is not worth living when she's gone."

Jaundré van Breda © 2019

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97