Writers/Creatives: what’s on your bucket list?

in #fiction6 years ago

I create creative writing prompts to share with participants of the writing workshops that I run with my good friend, @jenlavallee.

Make a Writing Bucket List Prompt.png

Today the prompt that I shared was “make a writing bucket list.”

I know the importance of setting goals to realize a dream. One of my dreams was to write and publish a book, and I was able to check that off by first meeting a series of measurable, relevant goals (like go to grad school for writing and develop an online presence) to help me reach that larger dream.

If you look up goal setting, you'll find pages and pages of information on the 'right' way to set them. For me, it's pretty straight-forward: when I put things in writing it makes me instantly more accountable.

Here are two of the items on my current writing bucket list:

  • Finish the young adult novel that I started.
  • Write a children’s book.

So, I thought I’d ask you (and maybe nudge you into thinking about your goals): what is on your writing/creative bucket list? What’s your ultimate bucket-list item?

Sort:  

I hope all is well over there. You must be getting existed for the warmer weather! Least I hope you guys and gals are starting to thaw out. Have a wonderful week.

Writing down my writing goals has proven incredibly helpful. The list helps me stay focused on my big-picture hopes/dreams, and this in turn helps me prioritize my writing projects correctly.

It's funny -- it feels like my productivity level has increased significantly since I started paying attention to my goals, but really it was just a matter of working on the right things, and doing so consistently. In terms of words on the page, my productivity level has remained the same. It's a neat little trick. :)

In terms of specific goals, the one I'm probably most jazzed about right now is writing a fiction book. I've published short fiction, I've published nonfiction books...but long-form fiction I've never even attempted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64230.75
ETH 3149.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85