You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Day in the Clouds (Chapter 14) - The Hours Between 1800 and 1900 (Part 2 of 2)

in #fiction7 years ago

You got me! I'm indeed trying out all the genres. I don't want to get pigeonholed into one genre, so I try to flex my literary muscles whenever I can. It's interesting reading, let's say romance written by a horror writer or comedy by a non-fiction author, the different backgrounds add a lot of flavor to the pieces.

Really though, I'm just boxing myself into a corner every time I obfuscate the genres. I'm the one who's having a difficult time labeling my work and losing potential readers by just shelving it under "General Fiction" haha!

Sort:  

I'm not trying all the genres, but I think I'm with you there XD I've been told my stuff is "drama with sci-fi/fantasy elements but I'm not really sure" by someone who is generally very good at categorising things XD

And this particular project of mine I have enough stuff to make most people unhappy I think. Won't stop me from doing it or anything XP

I think Shakespeare was right when he said that everything can be boiled down to tragedy and comedy. Drama will be ever present, so the icing (sci-fi, fantasy, etc) is going to be the one that distinctly classifies something into a specific genre. Don't mind what others think, just write what you enjoy writing :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68548.71
ETH 3847.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73