You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Gods of Love and War - Part 2 (Short Fiction)

in #fiction7 years ago

This was a great followup, my friend. You've struck gold once again with this series. You just keep churning out hits, don't you? I really love the irony of their flaws. I thought you did a great job assigning flaws to match their character. The holier-than-thou religious type with her fetish, and the barista with a drinking problem. That's the kind of innovative thinking that sets you apart from the rest.

I always feel like a better writer after reading your work. As if I'm taking in every chapter as lessons. Even though you're leaning more on the first-person, I still get tons of lessons in terms of how to write by reading your work. It has been such a delight, brother!

Sort:  

I'm glad you could see and appreciate the nuances in the story. Each woman the narrator is with brings something new to the ordeal, and unfolds some new part of his character. It was important to get that right. To allow the flow to make sense.

Really happy to hear that you get a lot from reading my writing. That made my day reading that. I know what you mean, as I get that from others and it changes me as a writer, brings out something new, something better. And we pass that along, keep the flow moving, in one way or another. Just as your feedback and support helps me strive forward. It's like an infinite loop of writerdom. Thanks again :)

Those little details are what set great stories apart from the rest. You are a big influence, and I just want you to know how your writing affects the people around you. That's how writing as a craft improves, I think. We don't have to reinvent the wheel all the time. Many others that came before us already did a fine job. The constant need to start from scratch does more harm than good. Who needs it when we can stand on the shoulders of giants? Yes, I'm calling you a giant, brother :D

Once we realise that it's not about coming up with an original idea (are there any left?) but having an original take on an idea, or telling an original story within the confines of what we have to work with, then it's like our sense of imagination opens up the fields of creativity around us. Originality gets replaced by imagination, and who knows where we can end up then.

Yes, standing on the shoulders of giants. That is an apt way to describe it. And you flatter me, but I accept the compliment :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63950.69
ETH 3311.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92