You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The End of the World - Part 2 (Short Fiction - Dark/Surreal SciFi)

in #fiction7 years ago

Man, this is so trippy! I feel like it sits firmly in between Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy and Catch-22 in terms of how it was written. I don't want to get ahead of myself, but this is shaping up to be my favorite short story of yours. I know I just said that about one of your Notes, but what I said there was that was my favorite Note. This goes beyond that.

I really like the way you approach the narrative here. Some time ago, I had wished to write something similar to this, but never came around to it because I didn't have the courage to commit to this style. You're doing it seemingly with very little effort, my friend! You've been honing your craft and it definitely shows. In the midst of HF19, you are thriving, and that says a lot about the reputation you have built up in this platform. Truly an example worth following :D

Sort:  

Very happy to hear this works well in your opinion. I guess the story was just a lot of loose ends and half explored ideas coming together at this point in time. When I had enough confidence to write it the way it needed to be written.

I'm going to have to review those two books again, and see what you mean. I find I am going back over a lot of older books of interest reading more as a writer than a reader. Which is education and inspirational in and of itself. Just not enough time in the day to read everything I want to.

I have found that since coming back here to Steemit the interaction side of things has increased and improved (as well as the number of spammy comments, but what can you do - it's the internet). Perhaps to do with me and my efforts at interaction, or just the scene in general. Whatever is the cause it is helping my writing, being able to converse with other up and coming great writers - like yourself.

Perhaps it has more to do with your efforts, mate. Personally, I've seen it decline drastically haha! It used to be that I was having trouble juggling comments, averaging around 20 per post. Nowadays ... hahaha

I'm not so good at marketing and networking. I wish I knew the secret to getting noticed. My approach is purely a writing thing - write, lots. Keep getting better. Hopefully talent will assist somewhere along the line. I have no idea, but we'll see. I've never made it to the trending list though. Which is why I use interaction as a guide stick. It's the main one that applies to me.

You do a good job with what you're doing. Sure, interaction could always increase, but what matters is that you're getting your work read by many people. That's all there is to it. The most effective way to market is by word of mouth, I think, and your reputation is strong enough to make that sustainable, mate.

Thank you. It's the interaction, no matter it's volume, that ultimately is the driving force for me. I feel like I am commenting far more than I used to. Getting a bit more interaction coming back in return. And quality interaction. And my writing is benefiting for it.

That's great! I'm so happy that you're getting back your due, mate :D You know that I'm a big fan, and any achievement of yours really makes me happy!

Thank you, and in all honesty it's the constant encouragement and support of readers such as yourself that is a huge catalyst for me. Especially you.

I do feel that my writing has come a long way even in the past month since returning to Steemit, and the sharing of feedback, thoughts and ideas by yourself, and those like you contribute for sure.

Mate, I'm just very happy that I'm able to contribute in whatever capacity. The improvement is definitely noticeable. You were great before, and you have constantly upped your game with every post you make. The way you keep raising the bar, you'd be on the moon quicker than the STEEM price haha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57711.87
ETH 3013.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35