You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reborn: Chapter Forty Four "INVINCIBLE!"

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

This was yet another jam-packed chapter. Personally, I thought dividing this into two separate chapters would've highlighted both parts equally. But, as I've said before, that's just the slow reader in me talking, and I fully trust your process my friend.

The first half, the wild romp with Jack really played out like a drug-addled, drunken honeymoon from hell. Admittedly, there are less-sexualized ways of handling it, but I like that he's rolling with it and making do with what he has. He still hasn't crossed the line, so you know that he's doing this solely for her benefit. I had thought that his cabin would be fully decked out with barbed wires and wooden spikes for fence, but that's just me.

For the second half, which is entitled "Learning to Fall" (because "Learning to Fly" seems too on the nose ugh) in my mind, read like an amazing coming-of-age tale of a young vampire "spreading he wings" and flexing the limits of her abilities. I know "INVINCIBLE" came directly from this sequence, but I felt that "INVINCIBLE" really encompassed both parts effectively, considering that she surpassed her "in heat" stage.

My favorite part in this is that sequence where she fell and broke every part of her body, except maybe her soul (HA! See what I did there? Because, she tries again and never gives up. Aaand, I'm overexplaining it, aren't I?). It was such a grand display of your descriptive skills and your ability to paint a picture with your words.

And the ending, oooohhhh they're finally getting acclimated with each other. I really hate it that it's leaning towards a fatherly relationship, considering what they have done with each other, but it can't be helped.

Masterfully done, my friend! :D @verbal-d's already covered the technical aspects spectacularly, so I'm free to just gush about what I liked haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62471.79
ETH 2621.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56