A Day in the Clouds (Chapter 6) - The Hours Between 1000 and 1100 (Part 1 of 2)

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

This is a continuation of the Steemit-exclusive, original novel A Day in the Clouds. Be sure to check out the previous chapters to catch up with the story. Enjoy!


<< Chapter 5 (Part 2)

cover

The sudden influx of power surprised even myself. I was neither aware nor prepared for the extent of viento I had within me. If only I had directed the charged spheroid towards a giant or the wall that lined the prison compound, then we could’ve gotten the escape underway. Instead, it had to land on a part that was the farthest from freedom.

The crater reeked of the stench of a thousand rotting corpses. Oh, but that's ... maybe too over the top. Perhaps, the smell of mounds of excrement would be a more apt comparison, though it still paled to the stench in reality. If only the sight didn’t give me an unimaginable sense of accomplishment, I would’ve vomited the meal I was fed earlier.

They took us away from the site as they congregated and discussed how they would repair the damage. Simplones.

I stuck close to the mesh fence that lined the fortress I was being kept in, hoping to catch wind of their discussion. The distance made it hard to hear what they were talking about, but the look on their faces only spelled one thing for me: victory.

The giants talked at the same time; their garbled words became too difficult to comprehend. Some of the words that I heard were "tank," “spill,” “septic,” “rusted” and “cave-in.” I didn’t know what to make of it but the distressed demeanor with which they talked was music to my ears.

    "Tank" — if my memory served me correctly, tanks were metallic monsters the giants used whenever they battled. Usually with a cannon mount, tanks were traditionally equipped with an impenetrable armor that could withstand gunfire and missiles. We fought tanks during the Great War, but we had a particularly difficult dealing time with those diabolical contraptions. Was my viento now strong enough to pierce through the heart of those metallic beasts?

If that was indeed the case, then it was a tremendous opportunity that I could capitalize on. I went from doubting whether I still had my wind powers to trying to keep it at bay so that the giants wouldn’t have an inkling of its continued existence. A theory I had long ago about why these fiends were keeping me alive was to harness and weaponize my armas de viento — it was never conclusively disproven, so that suspicion might still be in play.

But, my viento … I knew that we Sachaphoyans had the capability to harness immense power, but I’ve never seen an individual perform such a feat on his own. I’m not usually one to question my potential greatness, but this was just too incredible to not dispute.

I looked at my hands, and at that moment I swear I felt a gust blow by. Had I known a skirmish would be the key to release my potential, I would have been involved in more prison riots long ago.

I paced around the tiled floor as I devised a plan. Teten withdrew into the inner recesses of the fortress while Ayesa was taken back to her own. I furrowed my eyebrows thinking that it would aid in the thinking process.

Doma sat in a shabby, brown cushion nearby, clutching Eddie close to her chest. The wretched, little … thing had a glass bottle, filled with a white liquid, permanently fitted to his mouth. He looked at me with doe eyes, as he suckled on the latex teat.

    "Avert your gaze," I calmly requested.

Silence answered my plea. Eddie lay unmoving, apart from subtle jerks by his hands and feet. He coughed a little, to which Doma patted him on his back. I didn’t know whether he was the giants’ plaything or he had the giants wrapped around his fingers all this time. His gaze was unnerving.

    "I said," I followed, growing frustrated. “Avert … your … gaze.”

I almost spat out what I was trying to think about but I didn’t want Doma to have any suspicions. Not really sure whether the giant understood me, I was taking necessary precautions to avoid unwanted attention. She flashed me a smile, but I reciprocated it by avoiding her stare.

Drawing a blank, I slid beside the cushion to hide myself from the gazes. Time was not on my side. I didn’t want to lose right when I discovered I had an ace hidden deep within me. Tch.

I peeked slightly to see if Eddie was still looking — to no surprise, the plump creature still fixated his gaze upon me. Looking at my hands, I felt my viento surging through my veins, though I wasn’t sure how much was left after that tremendous discharge from earlier. I had to test it somehow on something or … someone.

I inhaled deeply and, without hesitation, leapt up the cushion and charged Eddie.

    "Ha!" I shouted while mounting my assault.

Doma stood up and swatted me away, effectively protecting Eddie. She clutched him tightly as he wept in agony. I didn’t even exert much effort but he still felt the force of my viento — I was really onto something.

The giant rocked the incompetent wretch to try to appease his wailing, but to no avail. She leered at me with disdain and I looked back at her beaming with pride. They retreated inside the fortress, Eddie’s cries still echoed all over the halls. Finally, I was alone.

I focused my gaze on the mesh fence that blocked the passage to the prison grounds. A rhythmic exchange of inhales and exhales followed. I tried to recreate my mental state during the skirmish with Teten, hoping that it would truly unlock my viento, and not just a freak coincidence.

Gusts of wind soon filled the hallowed hallway of the fortress. Winged creatures fluttered about above, seemingly perturbed by the disturbance brewing just below them. I relaxed my jaw and let out a menacing roar.

With all the strength I had left, I barreled towards the mesh fence and slapped it with the full force of my armas. The combination of my wind and physical power proved too much, as it was enough to unhinge the metallic barricade. Admittedly, the blowback of the attack caused me a great deal of physical pain, but the thought of impending freedom was comfort enough to get me through.

mandala40400.png


<< Chapter 5 (Part 2)

Thanks for reading! Follow me @jedau for stories, solutions and other stuff that begin with 'S'!

divider

Sort:  

Boom! Another great one! Every installment gives me something to smile about and this was no exception. Amazing story man! I don't think I want this to end!

That's so nice of you to say! I'm so glad that it has that effect and I thank you for letting me know :D Such a huge compliment, coming from a writer whose work I admire!

I just so happens that I've just published the next part a few seconds ago. I hope it doesn't disappoint, and I hope you will be able to read it when you find the time. I have your latest post in queue and will read it after I eat dinner! Thanks for your continued support, brother! :D

The quest for freedom! Your story is moving along nicely. The drama juxtaposed on what appears to be a normal family setting. I still think it's a clever idea.

Man, thank you for your continued support. Your words of encouragement really means a lot, especially through the slow days. I really hope that I could build some sort of momentum and take off from there. In the meantime, I really appreciate the recognition that I've been getting. Warms my heart to get compliments from people whose work I admire :D

You're welcome. I feel like we are really just starting to build a nice fiction community here. It can be a great means of support and encouragement. And let's face it - writing can be hard, and full of uncertainty. Although it doesn't have to be. So, happy to help, even if I lag behind (as I have on your other series), I will put time aside to help out.

YES! With more writers like you, I have no doubt that the fiction community will flourish. It's hard whenever there are people who are picky readers/supporters or those who prioritize their work above all others. We're in the building stage, so the more hands we have, the better the chance we stay afloat. This is not the time to cast people aside and alienate potential members.

I think a flourishing writer's community will help create a long term future for Steemit (for authors anyway). I know that's one of the things I am looking for, and trying to dedicate myself to helping create. I agree with the points you made.

Kindred spirits, brother. I believe in the same exact thing. Fiction readers are very dedicated, so the more we have in the platform, the better it is for readership. The more fiction writers we have, the more exclusive, original Steemit content we get, which would drive in way more readers that reposted articles ever could. Now, I'm not saying that external links are pure evil, though blatant copy-and-paste for profit really doesn't sit well with me.

You mirror my exact sentiments, man. Links with no extra commentary are no better than copy and paste. I've been shouting that original creative work is the lifeblood of this platform, but nobody ever listens. I'm just glad that someone with more influence believes in the same exact thing. It really gives me a sense of assurance that we're at least headed in the right direction :D

@jedau I'm not a fan of blatant copy and paste either. If it's plagiarised then it's a no-no in my book. Links with no extra commentary don't sit well with me, although i guess if people like them then its up to them. But I prefer to see some original input to add to the link or article, etc.

That's why the art community, incorporating all genres - writing, photography, art, poetry, digital (so long as it's original) - is the lifeblood of this place, in my opinion.

I genuinely laughed at *'Avert your gaze'. Great stuff dude!

Huzzah! That was the intention, and I'm so happy that it made at least one person laugh. Mission accomplished :D Thanks for the encouraging words, bud!

A septic cave-in, brilliant, I was wondering what that could possibly have been! What a perfect time for him to attempt escape, while they're all distracted, haha! And ouch! I could feel that impact, another example of your ability to put me in the story with him.
Such an incredible story my friend, I always look forward to more!

Everything will be made more clear in this week's Silver Lining. I think this installment is the shortest so far, mainly because it was broken into parts. I really hope that more readers would appreciate the change in length. This serves as a lead-in to a pivotal chapter, so I'm glad that it's received as a good installment all on its own. Thank you for your continued support, my friend! :D

Still deep in @ezzy's, @dreemit's and @papa-pepper's novels, but I shall extend my eyes to this novel as soon as I can bro lol Upvoted regardless, I'm sure it is a great literary piece from what I've read of your skillful and poised writing so far.

Thank you, brother! Do take your time, the story would be waiting for you when you're finally able to read it :D The buildup is only heightened by the waiting, I just hope that it meets your expectations. @ezzy's, @dreemit's and @papa-pepper's works are operating on a much higher frequency, so I just hope that my story won't be a disappointment after you read their masterpieces. I just left a comment on part 3 (I've had it on queue since a couple of hours ago, you beat me to leaving a comment!), and have MMM 25 on queue. Excited to give it a listen! I appreciate you taking the time to leave your thoughts here and for the vote :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59529.60
ETH 2657.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41