Ducks : A 5 minute free write

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)
"5 little ducks went out one day.. over the hills and far away... Mother duck said quack quac...."

"For the love of God, will you please shut up?", I interrupted the staff sergeant as my remaining squad marched along the hills. Our convoy was hit two days ago. Enemy forces ambushed us from all sides. Supply truck was blown to smithereens.

My entire squad was slaughtered except 5 of us. We were lucky enough to survive. Radio contact to HQ could not be established since the comms were destroyed too.

"Sir, i am just trying to lighten the mood since we all are in an effed up situation.. besides you should see the resemblance in the rhyme sir.. you see it says that..." explained the staff sergeant..

"I know what it says and i also know the situation we are in.. and i can see the irony in it too. Now do you want me to give you a medal for this?" I shouted,

"We need to be on our toes. Do you understand? We need to get back home, we wouldn't last long in a fight against these rascals.. Here is my...."

boooommmm

We were met by a huge cloud of fire and a loud boom as an RPG hit us and sent us flying all over the place. I was hit and could see my staff sergeant lying on the ground 10 meters away. I crawled towards staff sargeant who had lost both of his legs.. i asked him to stay with me but he kept smiling.. and said "Sir.. see? I told you that we were 5 little ducks"..
I smiled back and said, "Yeah you were right.. but didn't all 5 little ducks come back home in the end?"

He mustered up to say his last words, "Sir.. this is our home.." as he slowly let the dust slip away in his palm..



*Posted in 5 minute #freewrite, hosted by the talented @mariannewest.

Promp word :- ducks

Image from pixabay

Kindly consider to upvote and comment
JBN

Sort:  

Wow. didn't think that ducks could get us into a war zone - oh, the beauty of the freewrite! And thanks for the plug in your comment to @theessential

Indeed.. the beauty of freewrite.. :) all thanks to you...

Holy cow. That was intense. Wow. Great job!!!

Thank you very much ^_^

I liked it. Well written and very much in the moment.

Just as @byn said; this was intense!

Haha thanks man.. i know you arent into freewriting yet but i have found this to be of great value.. we post about a lot of things on steemit in hopes to catch the audience.. yet somehow, being on a blogging site, we are killing the true writers within ourselves.. this freewrite program is now my tether to that pure good ol' writer within me..
i would totally recommend you to join freewrite. It takes 5 minutes to write a post... so your time wont be wasted at all..
do consider my request..
Much regards

Hey man I recently followed your blog. You have really done well for yourself on Steemit in the short time you have been here. Certainly has something to do with you high quality posts/ content.

Do you have any suggestions for someone new to Steemit like me who wishes to have success. I have time to post every day but I struggle with what is worth talking about or how to promote myself. I am sure you are busy, but if you have any tips- it would be greatly appreciated.

If anyone has any suggestions for a new Steemian, I would really appreciate your candor.
@theessential

Well.. i visited your blog and suffice to say that you have talent.. your formatting skills are great (which i didnt have in me at all when i was starting out). All you lack is visibility.. and that is okay.. because your followers grow in exponentional form.. it will be very hard at first, but then people will automatically start to follow you once you have reached to a certain Reputation score and a decent Wallet with decent amount of SP (vote worth)..

And for that to happen, you need to keep pushing out quality content.. i was very dishearted at first because some of my initial posts that went for 0.10$ or 0.20$ were really good.. but i realized that its the only way to go forward.. you cannot post bad or average content in start in hopes that when your followership will grow to 1000 people then you will start posting something meaningful and useful. it doesnt work that way..

I have 4 advices for you..:-

  1. Comment on other people posts.. but relevant comments please.. like if you read my article and you liked it, then you should make a comment that shows author that you have actually read his or her post.. dont post spam comments, you will be heavily flagged. By spam i mean "good post" "nice" "thank you for sharing" etc etc.. the more you comment, the more number of ppl will start to follow you..

  2. Post less.. by post i mean the actual post.. if you will keep posting everyday and nobody is seeing it, then you are wasting your words.. so instead comment a lot on other posts (go to new section in your feed and start commenting on every post you come across but of course, after reading it).. make only 3 post every week unless you gain a good amount of audience..

  3. Engage with steemit community.. join the discord channels (i hope u know what discord is), join different groups.... talk to different people.. let your presence known to the community..

  4. Participate in a lot of competitions.. its a major way to get yourself some followers.. for instance take "black and white 7 day challenge", or a comments based competition.. or if you are a good writer then join freewrite community.. etc etc..

Take it easy.. the only secret to be successful at steemit is consistency... thats it..

I hope it helped you in some way..

wow, I really went out on a limb commenting on your post with a “question for a newbie” but your response was exactly what I needed. I’m screen-shotting your post so I can refer back to it.

Thank you very much for the meaningful response. I won’t forget it. I will try to put these things into practice and build up my reputation/followers.

So one last question. You mentioned discord and I am familiar with the concept but have not taken the time to explore it.
With that being said- What is the best way to find these discord groups?? I find that Steemit is difficult to navigate when your looking for certain kinds of material.

here is an invite to PAL - they are the minnow support project. that is a good start.
https://discord.gg/2rUyJak

many people have invites to their discord in their signature

Thank you! I appreciate it very much.

Apologies for not seeing your comment and replying it sooner. Somehow i missed it..

@mariannwest is right.. you will find majority of steemit community on PAL channel (including many witnesses).. so thats a good spot to begin..

Steem on ^_^

!originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jbn to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63184.34
ETH 2560.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72