To the Fair - micro-fiction

in #fiction5 years ago

Piglets
Image source

To the Fair


Eddy announced he was fed up with this nonsense. To get to the fair they would have to take two buses and a train, then walk ten blocks. “Bernice, honey, I would rather fall into a pit of alligators. No way am I doing this.”

“Suit yourself, Eddy. I’m going to the fair.”

Eddy sat up in his chair by the computer where he had worked out the logistics. “Well, you’re not going to go. Not on your own.”

“Who says?”

“Bernice, you have the street smarts of a potato. Cut that out, now.”

But Bernice had a tote bag with a bottle of water, some sandwiches and an umbrella. “I’m going to see those newborn piglets, Eddy.” She turned to go.

Eddy pried himself out of the squeaky rolling chair. “It’s two buses, a train and ten blocks, B!”

Bernice could see Eddy was vexed. He was used to Bernice following his lead. If he said they were going to go out, they went out. If he said they were going to stay in, they stayed in. Not this time. The newspaper said wonderful things about the baby animals and she wasn’t missing it.

“Eddy, the Baby Animal Barn is full of new piglets and lambs. You do what you want. I’m going.”

“Fine.” Eddy frowned, but he pulled on his sweater and followed her toward the door.

With Eddy scuffling along behind her, Beatrice went through the doorway, as if stepping through a portal to a new life.



Thank you for reading my micro-fiction story. As always, I have written it to exactly 250 words. I'm not sure if I carried it off, but I wanted to explore the dynamics in a relationship where one person is used to being under the thumb of the other, and finally one day decides to take a stand.

I run a weekly micro-fiction writing contest on the Steem platform. This story is my piece for this week's prompt, "portal." Naturally, I am not entering the contest, but I do enjoy writing stories for each of the prompts.

Do you have an interest in micro-fiction? If you'd like to try your hand at it, watch for the new prompt each week by Monday morning, Central time, with the #microfiction tag.

Animated signature




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://jaynalocke.com/2019/04/14/to-the-fair-micro-fiction/

Sort:  

You know that @mariannewest is running @freewritehouse short writings contest daily right? might be something for u :)

Oh yes, @matkodurko. @mariannewest and I are friends and collaborators! Each week we post the same prompt and invite fiction writers to draft a short story as a #freewrite and then polish it and re-submit it as an entry for my #microfiction contest. Here's last week's "portal" prompt in Marianne's freewrite post and my micro-fiction contest. While it hasn't exactly caught on like wildfire we think it's fun! LOL.

I'm going to start referring to it as Steemit's Best Kept Secret!

What an attentive guy Eddy is...' street smarts of a potato' 😂

Does he really need that wheelchair? If so I would refuse to take the buses and train and 10 blocks too and stay in.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha ha. I’m glad you like that line. 😁

He isn’t actually in a wheelchair. Just a desk chair that rolls! Thanks so much for reading and commenting, @wakeupkitty!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh, he loves staying in with his computer way more as going out 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Good for Bernice to stand her "man". A time arrives to remove the shackles and normally it's done with much hesitation, but afterwards the rewards are heavenly. Freedom at last to be!
Blessings!

Well said! Sometimes, when possible, we need to shift the balance of power. This theme tends to recur in my writing due to past experience. 😉 Thank you so much for the visit, @papilloncharity!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hello @jayna I could guess that Eddy and Beatrice are a couple very committed to their projects. I loved the story.

Thanks so much, @felixgarciap!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 63049.68
ETH 3022.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50