You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Starting Write Club and thinking out loud

in #fiction7 years ago

I agree, and now you know why I picked that image. That logline is my favorite, and at some point the story must be told. I’m building a logline spreadsheet so they can ripen for the plucking as needed. But for the story I must write in the coming week I have something else in mind. Bwah ha ha.

I will write the father-son tale perhaps when I have not very recently experienced a string of real life losses. Or perhaps when these things are fresh and raw it is the best time to write a tale of sadness. What think you?

Sort:  

Ah, that's a hard question. I find I write a 'better' story when I'm writing something I have seen or heard or felt myself. So, to me it feels like the story would be more powerful and genuine when those emotions are still fresh and strong in your own self.

Taking that a step further, it might be harder on yourself to write such a story LATER, in large part because you would have to dredge up all those memories and emotions you had forgotten and allowed to slip towards the back of your head. You'd have to drag them all to the forefront again. Not sure if that would feel good either.

Still...everyone is different, so that's just my opinion.

Hmm, yes to all that. I do sometimes wish I had written some things closer to when they happened, when their power was palpable. To write of them when their edges have softened is harder. I no longer worry about having to deal with the reliving of them as they are too far in the distant past, but the richness with which I may have been able to fictionalize them is perhaps no longer available to me. Sigh. There is never any “right” answer in these things, is there?

Definitely no right answer, but looking into my past at times when I was overwhelmed by sadness, I don't think I'd be able to write a coherent story. Gotta wait at least a little bit for your mind to settle.

So true. On another note, I think you may have been traveling when they picked the current Write Club victims—er, participants. I see you doing this in a future round, don’t you?

I certainly wouldn't mind doing it in a future round. Far too crazy over the holidays though, with traveling and other stuff. For now I shall watch from the sidelines as you all suffer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56269.96
ETH 2364.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26