Living on

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

Wisteria arbor
Image by nightowl, Pixabay

Living on: A 50-word short story


In the shade of the arbor, the old man sipped a mint julep — perhaps his last. Marcie, his youngest granddaughter, bounced to him through clover fields. She smiled, hands behind her back. It was the game they played.

“A flower?”

“Yes! Forget-me-not.” Her eyes brimmed. “I will never forget you.”





Thanks for reading! This 50-word short story is based on this week's challenge prompt, "shade."

Animated signature



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://jaynalocke.com/2018/07/21/living-on/

Sort:  

It’s a beautiful flower to give.

When the end and the beginning meet, they speak the secret language of augury. Grandfather and granddaughter at the estuary of human life. Beautiful story, @jayna.

Before deciding to join in, I had thought it a crazy thing to write a full story in fifty words, but I’ve found great texts, fine writes indeed ☻♥

They really are inspiring, aren't they? I love what the Fifty Worders do with the prompts. It thrills me week after week!

Precise and elegant. Flowers, in their infinite variety, have such suggestive powers. They can speak volumes for themselves. They bring freshness and sensibility to the story. Happiness to the end, or especially at the end?

Thank you very much. I had not thought about how much flowers have to say, but I believe that is really true. Flowers can be joyful or somber. They can suggest love or admiration, and can brighten a foul day or help to make an apology. Like forget-me-nots, some have names and meanings that convey specific emotions. Now you have me thinking!

Such a sweet little tale @jayna, enjoyed it :)

Thanks very much, @cizzo!

Sounds like the perfect afternoon! Always amazing how much you can bring with so few words. That is quite the scene going on. You can just about feel the warm sun glowing as he enjoys the shade and a cool drink.

I like this one a lot, Jayna. Can't wait for the next prompt!

Thank you, @thinknzombie! It will be today, but late in the day central time. I returned from my travels late last night and today I dash back to the office!

This is a wonderful story

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05