The Light From Above

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

image

Exploring The Secrets Of The Unknown

Date: June 4 1971
Issue No: 041
Written By: Darrell Theodore Davis

The Case Of The Light From Above

Today I journeyed a great distance in my never ending quest to unravel the mysteries of the unknown. Today's port of call was a semi abandoned town close to the border which I could not find on any map. Those who knew of its existence referred to it as "The Jagged End". Rumor had it that the town had been the center of various inexplicable phenomena over the years.

Since the route to Jagged End was unfamiliar to me, I decided to board a bus headed in that direction. I left my home before 6 am hoping I would be able to avoid the rush at the bus station. By a wonderful stroke of luck the station was not as busy as it was in the early morning. The route I was to take was one frequented by interstate traders. It seemed the downpour of the night before had left a chill in the bones of the city's residents. Maybe they decided to sleep longer to warm themselves up?. The reason did not really matter to me, I was glad to leave the station when I did. By 6:25 am I was on my way to Jagged End.


After a drive that lasted 4 hours, I stopped at the point closest to the town. From there I walked for over an hour before I saw the sign that said "Welcome To The Jagged End". By the time I found the home of the man I was to interview it was already noon.

The man who preferred to remain anonymous had an Earth shaking tale to tell. He claimed to have been taken away by otherworldly beings and made to witness things from beyond this world.

He said that his encounter happened on a day when he has hauling produce in his truck. According to him the skies emitted a strange light, he stopped and went out of his truck to observe it, he then pulled out his camera and took a photograph. He showed me a copy of said photograph which I have attached to this document.

He claimed that upon taking his eyes off the camera lens he found himself in a strange place. He was standing at a crossroad and could see crooked paths headed in all directions. He said that a being appeared before him and guided him through a path.

He claimed to have seen the past, present and future of many great civilizations, some human, others not. The final image he saw was one of a desolate Earth that seemed to have been abandoned for centuries. Various symbols and signs flashed before his eyes and he could not make sense of any of them. The last thing he saw in the strange realm was a finger of the being pointed at him.


The next thing he knew was opening his eyes to find himself floating in a river. He was rescued by fishermen nearby before he drowned. It was discovered that he was found at a location 16 hours away from where he left his truck. It was also found that less than 2 hours had elapsed between him taking the photograph and being rescued by the fishermen. How did a man complete a 16 hour journey in less than 2 hours?. The answer remains a mystery.

I left Jagged End with more questions than answers. The next step would be to visit the places he mentioned and conduct more investigation. There are many more mysteries to unravel in the course of this story, but that's for another issue of "Exploring The Secrets Of The Unknown".


This is an entry to the steemjet writing contest by @olanrewaju


Have you heard of Steemians Arena Community/Curation Trail?. Find out more.

Join the Discord server

Join the WhatsApp group


Image credits canva, @aschatria, @olanrewaju

Sort:  

Your post has been upvoted by the @steemiansarens. Our goal is to support minnows and help them grow. You can join our discord server here Whastapp here.. You can also support us by either contributing steem or delegating SP to us

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60728.44
ETH 2653.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59