DIARY OF THE BRAVE 2steemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction6 years ago

imagesq.jpg
Sept 13
.
§. My mind was made up about Timi. However, I became tongue tied to express my feelings. I knew that she wanted me but African courtesy stalled her moves. As for me, manly boldness refused to befriend me. Her lady charms pushed her to ask me to explain to her the lecture of the day. I felt smart when she caught the sense of it quickly. It soon dawned on me she understood the subjects from the start. In any case, I loved the fact that I was the one who had her attention and that was enough for me.
.
§. I couldn’t believe the shock when my Papa came home giving the ultimatum that we moved out of the house, to the village! He has reached a conclusion that my Mama is no longer good for him. And the children would be a stumbling block to the new relationship he already has. My first reaction was to plead with him on bended knees and prostrations. While my siblings begged him to have a rethink because they wanted an undivided family. I for my part begged because secretly I did not want to be far away from Timi. She was the best thing that was happening to me. I saw my Papa as a kill-joy and I genuinely started hating him for his unrelenting stance.
.
§. Because his decree was urgent I could not get to say bye to my classmates and most of all to Timi. We would be leaving the next day! - A Saturday. My pain is severe...
SEPT 14
.
We arrived the village at about 4pm. My Papa had eagerly come to the house in the morning with a long vehicle to take our belongings to the village. He had not slept at home that night. Although he seldom slept at home. When he came he hurriedly asked us to pack up as fast as possible. I took a look at his disposition, he was very happy. The happiness one feels when he wins a jackpot. The pleadings from my siblings felt like music to his ears. He was even patronizing! Putting his hands around the shoulders of Joke, my younger sister, he blurted out consolatory words 'Don’t be sad dear, I am doing this for your good. I will come to check you all often.' I hated him even the more. My resolve was to begin a war with him. He just planted a wicked streak in me and I was determined to ensure he reaped what he has sown. In all these, my Mama watched the benign morning drama with a stoic disposition. That alarmed me since I knew her to be weak-willed and always ready to shed tears.
.
§ I calmly got down from the bus. Stepped into our house and headed for the wine bar. I reached out for the dry gin. I took gulps of it like I was drinking water. Joke rushed to take the bottle or what was remaining of it from me. She looked at me sternly. With a womanly voice, she said 'take your time o' and replace the bottle in the bar.
.
§ My other siblings were busy bringing in our baggage. I had already dropped myself onto the sofa and I watched them do so half asleep. The liquor has already taken its unpleasant hold on me.
.
§ I woke up to the news that I had thrown up and I had strong words with my Papa when he had confronted me about the indecent act. All these memory were not with me. When I asked about my Mama, I was told she has left for her family's house. I seethed with anger. As for my Papa he was already fast asleep in his room. It was 11 pm.

Sort:  

Congratulations @jabezgabe! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97