DIARY OF THE BRAVEsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction7 years ago

images.jpg
George became aware of himself at age 5. He remembers faintly that life for his family did not kick start well.
.
§. There were noise of turmoil. Papa and Mama were never friends. They fought over many things. George thought this to be normal.
.
§. However, he felt he was not in the right family. Papa was mean at home, but fearful away from it. Mama was a talker yet oppressed to submission by mean Papa. All George has learnt was fear.
.
§. But George was intelligent. He excelled in class. That was his forte. He understood happiness and banter amongst his mates. He hated going home.
.
§. He did one thing that kept him somewhat focused. He choose to be good. Now that he is much older, he regrets this choice a times. But gratitude greets him when he gets econium for being good.
.
§. He is from a family of 7 and has to be responsible to mark out good road for his ilk for he is the eldest. This is his story...
.
§. I am now 14 on this day September 11. My happiness is that my life has found some meaning because I made the top of the class again for the umpteenth time. Yes, 'umpteenth' that was the word that gave me an egde over others. I have notice a certain girl who too is noticing me. Timi.
.
§. I am afraid to approach her. I hope to muster up courage and speak with her tomorrow. Till tomorrow comes let me day dream...
Sept 12
The long awaited day arrived. With my lines arranged to perfection. Sadly, Timi did not come to school that day. All my mental rehearsal became a bag of confusion. Time went slowly. 2pm refused to come. But nature knows how to drag the relunctant future to our door steps. It was time to go home. The home I hated to go.
.
§. As I traipsed my way home, counting my steps slowly as I could, here was Timi coming in the opposite direction! My heart sank, my thoughts fled. When I came to my senses I found out that I had been smiling sheepishly at her and she was dazed and confused that we just stood there looking at each other.
.
§. I finally found my voice, I said 'Hello' the voice did not sound like mine. And then asked why she was absent at school. She told me her Mama was ill and she had to stay back to take care of her. There was a mango tree on the other side of the road that beckoned to us to stand in its shade. And we instinctively obliged. Expressing my sympathy as we made an effort to cross. She thrust her hand into mine signaling that I held her hand before we crossed. I had never held a girl's hand before in this manner. I felt like her protector. And her hand was soft as wool and I discovered my palm perspired.
.
§. We talked about the day's activities. I offered to fill her in on the lectures of the day and gave her my notes. 'Mama is getting better' she informed me. Hence she would be to school the next day. I bid her bye. Almost immediately as is my custom, I went into my mind to replay all that had transpired between us. Drawing a smile to my lips and prompting me to look back to steal a glance at her. She too was looking back to catch a glimpse of me. With our eyes meeting again, brought a huge, infectious smile to her face.
.
§. My steps has now quickened. My hot home lay ahead. And I remembered that we were given an assignment by authoritarian Mr. Salomé. My note now with Timi. A cold shudder ran through me as I conjure images of his menacing face and unforgiving whip that would whip me silly for failing to do the assignment. I knew the next day would be unforgiving but the hope of being with Timi was what the next day meant to me...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63780.55
ETH 2618.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82