Challenge #01471-D010: Plus La Change...

in #fiction8 years ago (edited)

canstockphoto25706164ec51b.jpg

“We both do work around here.”
“Yeah but you feed the dog and I clean up the shit, there’s a difference.” -- WannaSheWriter

"What? We don't have a dog."

"It's a metaphor. You cook, but you leave the cleaning to me. You make things to sell at the market, but you leave all the mess from making it all over the house for me to sweep up. You fix the garden, and then you track mud indoors. All of your work leads to all of my work. Do you get it, yet, or do I need to use smaller words?"

Blaise leveled an injured look at her spouse. "I don't appreciate your tone, Melanie."

"I don't appreciate mopping up after you all day. Do you know how much me-time I've had this past month?"

"We snuggle every night!"

"No. I fall to bed, exhausted, and you come in whenever you're tired and grope me for half the night and keep me awake. Look. I love you. That will never change, but god dammit, I'm feeling so worn out by the bullshit that's going around." Melanie gestured expansively at the fallout from Blaise's latest creative whirlwind. "I wanna be looked after, too."

Blaise looked around. Melanie was right. Everything she was doing, even though it was with their mutual good in mind, left more and more work for Melanie. "I'm sorry. I'll finish this one and tidy up, okay?"

"Thank you."

"And then I think you're overdue for a well-deserved back rub."

"O God, yes."

"And tomorrow? Is a 'you' day."

Melanie put her swollen feet up. She had, after all, been on them all day. "That sounds like a good start, really."

"I know when I should stop digging," Blaise smiled. "But there will definitely be more 'you' days. Whenever you need one, and sometimes... whenever you want one."

"...'s long as it's fair," mumbled Melanie.

Blaise let her nap. She had her own mess to pick up. And some dishes to wash.

[AN: My forum for prompts is temporarily down, so I mined the #writing-prompt tag on Tumblr. Also, apologies for the messed-up scheduling with the Blasts From the Past. I am still working out how the frell Streemian works. Any hints and tips are welcome]

[Image (c) Can Stock Photo / dolgachov]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me.

Send me a prompt [12 remaining prompts!]

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

Sort:  

It's very beautiful post!!
Your job is very good..Upvote!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58969.80
ETH 2512.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48