Challenge #02456-F266: The Tough NutsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction5 years ago

canstockphoto4539853.jpg

"I would like to acquaint your facial features, with the fundamentals of a brick wall, at high velocity, REPEATEDLY." -- Anon Guest

"Thrown or wielded?" challenged the Human.

This was not the expected reaction to a threat. K'rux startled for a second or two. "You are meant to be intimidated by my bulk and violence," they protested. "That will make you go away."

The Human raised one of their furry eyebrows. "You're new, aren't you? Haven't had the entire introduction to the Galactic scene, yet. Right? You can call me Daz. I'm a Human."

Only now did K'rux realise that there were other, big tough beings in this area. Most of them were bigger and tougher than the Human called Daz. Every single one of them was giving Daz a respectable wide berth.

"I am also Deathworlder," said K'rux, still attempting to show their strength.

Human Daz snorted. "Cute. You're like a two at most. Maybe a one point five. Here." They brought out something small and round and brown from a pocket. "This is a Macadamia Nut. One of the toughest nuts to crack from my world. Inside is a nutrient and energy-dense edible seed. Impress me."

K'rux tried, they genuinely tried. The shiny round surface defied their claws. Something in its structure resisted all the pressure K'rux could apply with their teeth. It skittered away when K'rux tried to hit it with the heaviest thing they could lift. "I can not," they confessed.

Human Daz took off one of their heavy boots and, holding the nut still, brought the heel of it down on the nut. Then they prised apart the shell via the resultant cracks. "I actually have a thumbscrew variant nut-cracker, but this is way more impressive." They sheared the nut in half. "Better scan that, just in case."

K'rux was too busy staring at the shattered shell pieces. "Does that not hurt?"

"Stings a bit," Human Daz popped the other half into their mouth. "Might bruise, but I doubt it."

Considering this very visceral demonstration, K'rux decided on diplomacy. "I would like to state that I am extremely apologetic and appreciate greatly your patience with me."

[Image (c) Can Stock Photo / shariffc]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me. Or share them with your friends!

Send me a prompt [39 remaining prompts!]

Support me on Patreon / Buy me a Ko-fi

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

Sort:  

"You are meant to be intimidated by my bulk and violence," they protested. "That will make you go away."

They do realise that that dramatically decreases their intimidation factor right XD

When things don't work and you thought you understood the system...

Internutter, have you thought of putting your books on Amazon as well as Steemit? Btw, I'm putting out links to your books for sale on Facebook and my other social media accounts trying to get sales going for you. I LOVE your stuff.

I have an Amazon exclusive short story called Free Baby, which Amazon actually owns because of their ludicrous distribution licenses[and has not sold even one copy]. As for Facebook... you can find me there under "authorcmweller" [though to be honest, I mostly spruik my daily Instants and Patreon].

You can find my works here on Smashwords which is the "Other stuff I'm selling" link up there in my sig.

...also I have a Podcast which resulted in an album so that makes me an official Content Creator(tm)... if only I could make a living out of it -_- [Bitter? Moi? Yes, thankyou]

Advertising costs money I don't have, even on Facebook. My Ko-Fi link is up in there if you want to help sponsor an ad or two or help fund the audiobook version of one of my novels.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58969.80
ETH 2512.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48