Challenge #02434-F244: For Dreams Behind BarssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction5 years ago

canstockphoto69263375.jpg

Dimethyltryptamine, a "Class A" drug that is illegal across the world, but not in some country and states. An potent Psychedelic that can make you believe that you can warp reality. The funny thing is, it is created when we dream. -- Anon Guest

Dimethyltryptamine. Quite the mouthful when you're chasing that high. Some call it DMT, some call it God Complex. Some call it Dream, because it is literally the stuff that dreams are made of. The brain makes it naturally when we hallucinate in our sleep. Well. When most of us hallucinate in our sleep.

Did you know? A Human who can't dream suffers from long-term psychological impacts? I bet you didn't. I bet you're looking it up right now to call me out on my horseshit. You see, it's not widely studied because most Humans make DMT on their own and, though some claim they don't dream, they do. They just don't remember. It's the unfortunate few who literally can't make that chemical who suffer.

Also, just so you know - self-medicating for that is HELL for someone like me. First off, in order to get DMT legally, the government is all up in your business. Medical hoops have to be leaped through. Red tape has to be untangled. You need to acquire and keep updated five separate forms of ID... Ever since the greater forces of Science figured out how to make it artificially, it has been a heavily controlled substance. Which means that all you need to do to get it illegally is to go looking for a Sandman somewhere close to the nearest bodega.

Yes, that's what the dealers are called. After that ancient song from like a century ago. Bring me a dream and all that hoorah. Yeah. Memetic propagation is something else.

Anyway, my Sandman goes by Oogie and I don't ask questions about the supply. There's all kinds of scarelore going around about how they make DMT in the drug kitchens. What criminal activity they undergo in order to get the ingredients, how toxic the ingredients are... frankly, I don't really care. My need for DMT is real and getting the illegal stuff is actually less fuss and bother than getting it legally.

Interestingly, going to jail for possession is also going to guarantee a supply because of my affliction. It doesn't look good for a penalised person to wind up going somewhere beyond bonkers in captivity because they're in there for having the controlled substance that prevented them from going beyond bonkers in the first place. Besides, once I start suffering from the lack of DMT, I can't be used as next-to-slave-labor for the prison industry.

Thusly, the punishment-first right-wing wowser set have actually made it attractive to break the law. All because they were afraid of a crime spree running out of control.

[Image (c) Can Stock Photo / vinkfan]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me. Or share them with your friends!

Send me a prompt [40 remaining prompts!]

Support me on Patreon / Buy me a Ko-fi

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

Sort:  

And that's just confusing enough that people will either refuse or fail to understand how that could possibly have gone so very wrong XD

...and therefore double down on the extant strategy 9_9

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68221.63
ETH 3277.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66