Challenge #02430-F240: In a Name

in #fiction5 years ago (edited)

canstockphoto1235691.jpg

I'm one of the fortunate or unfortunate (depending on your perspective) to have two first name, them being S***** Kirby. -- Anon Guest

There's just something about having a first name as a last name that gets to people. It's memorable, yes, but also... it can make nametags problematic. You would not believe the number of people who tell me it should be my surname in there or, in non-surname occasions, my given one. Then you get the accusations of being an impostor of some kind.

"I thought your name was Savannah," or, "I thought your name was Kirby." Small wonder, then, that people like me gravitate towards the kind of jobs where the full name is part of the identification. After that, there's the connection between certain names and popular franchise characters. Yeah. People in my family never quite make it to upper management and always watch their weight.

When there's one obvious joke to be made about you? Trust me, you will move heaven and earth to avoid it coming close to reality. Even when they use that joke anyway. It gets tiresome. Really tiresome.

The only plus side out of it all is that people never forget you. Which might be also why people in my family have never been inclined to join a life of crime. Tempted - often. Actually inclined - never.

There's a lot of hullaballoo about how surnames are going extinct as certain families stop at girls and other such causes. I can't understand how lots of them are upset about this.

I, for one, will be glad.

[Image (c) Can Stock Photo / thesupe87]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me. Or share them with your friends!

Send me a prompt [40 remaining prompts!]

Support me on Patreon / Buy me a Ko-fi

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

Sort:  

I suppose surnames going extinct could be a problem if you put arbitrary limits like who “gets” to pass them down on things 🤣

Surnames going extinct is only a problem if you let it be one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12