Challenge #02413-F223: Forbidden PrizesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction5 years ago

canstockphoto421906.jpg

My soul longs for it, craves for it. I want- no need it! -- Anon Guest

It's always out of reach. Beyond my grasp. Close enough to see. Too far away to touch. Tempting. Always tempting. I want it, I need it, I love it from afar, but I cannot even hope to touch it. It is beyond my means. I know this, yet I try anyway.

There are a thousand plans. Deception and trickery. Argument and debate. Ingenuity and engineering with the materials I have to hand. All are failures. Some have come close, but that has just made the torment of denial all that much harsher, more torturous.

The last one, an intricate structure of platforms and balance, had me closer than ever before. My only mistake was in making it too far from my ultimate goal, and in alerting the eternal guardians to my presence so close to the forbidden prize.

They are not harsh, these guardians. They set everything back to the way it once was, before I expended a day's effort in building the tower. They always set everything back to the way it once was. They comfort me, a little, with that consistency, but they never comfort me with my soul-crushing need's fulfilment.

Sometimes, when my protests are particularly stringent, extended, or loud, they will take me to rest, far away from that which I crave. They are not cruel, I know this. I have depended on their succour for other ills... but they will not allow me to pursue this.

It's always the same.

"No cookies before dinner-time, Pammie."

[Image (c) Can Stock Photo / Tawng]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me. Or share them with your friends!

Send me a prompt [49 remaining prompts!]

Support me on Patreon / Buy me a Ko-fi

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

Sort:  

It didn’t matter that I immediately knew exactly what was going to happen. It was still a good read 🤣

Posted using Partiko iOS

Eh, they can't all be world-shaking twists :D

Sometimes it’s much better/more relatable when they’re not 😆

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79