Challenge #02076-E252: OmniphobiasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction6 years ago

canstockphoto785570.jpg

"You said it wouldn't be scary this time!"
"Technically I said it wouldn't be a monster. "
"It's a dragon!"
"I stand by my statement!" -- OohLookShiny

[AN: This is before they meet and rescue Marvin in Dirt's Worth]

Wraithvine mentally ticked 'dragon' off the list of beasts that ze could make hir phantom steed appear to be like. The problem was that Kobolds like the freshly-renamed Chrysanthemum were renowned for their craven cowardice and apparently terrified of every possible mount they could both use. The poor little rogue was even terrified of an Elven Riding Deer, notorious herbivores, all of them.

"Make it go away," Chrysanthemum wailed.

"Now if I do that, I've burned the spell slot for nothing," said Wraithvine. "You could make this quicker by naming an animal you like... Something you're not scared of?"

"No," pouted Chrysanthemum. "You'll make it big and then it'll be scary."

"I have to make it big. It's a steed. We're riding it."

"I like walking."

"Ye-e-es... Walking is nice," Wraithvine allowed. "But time is of the essence and flying is so much faster. And a Phantom Steed only lasts an hour, sooo... do want me to lie to you?"

Chrysanthemum thought about this, even as she turned a scarf into a blindfold. "Yes. Lie to me. Lie to me all the way there. I hate heights. I hate riding. I hate time limits..."

Wraithvine dug the carrying harness out of hir pack and wriggled into it, beginning the now-traditional lie. "Now, my dear, we are just going to hug. We are going to hug for an entire hour, and it is perfectly fine if you need to squeeze me harder from time to time." Ze scooped Chrysanthemum up in hir arms and let the Kobold wrap hir torso and cling tight with all five limbs, including the semi-prehensile tail. "And in order to make sure that I don't accidentally drop you, I'm putting on all the hug belts."

It really was a tour de force, helping a Kobold become brave. Or at least, temporarily deluded enough through a form of collaborative storytelling to endure the trials of riding anywhere for an hour. Wraithvine finished with sitting astride 'a log' - hir summoned dragon - and announcing that a really stiff wind was springing up.

Ze devoted one hand to holding Chrysanthemum and the other to the reins. Pushing hir phantom steed to the limit to get to their destination in the shortest amount of time possible. They landed just as the steed was evaporating into mist. Wraithvine used Featherfall for the trip to the ground.

Only then, at their goal, did Wraithvine start purring gently to signal that the scary part was over. And so were the lies.

It wasn't the best arrangement, but it was the best one that worked. So far. Wraithvine was determined to find a better solution.

[Image (c) Can Stock Photo / kk5hy]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me. Or share them with your friends!

Send me a prompt [28 remaining prompts!]

Support me on Patreon / Buy me a Ko-fi

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

Sort:  

I'm trying to associate "craven cowardice" with "rogue" and it's really not working. But it could have something to do with all my rogue and rogue-like characters having pretty much zero concept of danger.

After that I was still laughing at being scared of elven riding deer all the way to the end XD

Inspired by Nott the Brave of Critical Role fame :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58836.39
ETH 2494.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44