Challenge #02058-E234: MicroqueststeemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction6 years ago

canstockphoto33582625.jpg

Dragon Microbiologist. That is all. -- TheDragonsFlame

The beast had been spotted over rivers and streams. Its visits were always brief, but they were methodical. Which was why Sir Valiant had been able to catch it at this point.

"Hold," he demanded, when the dragon lit at this particular point in the river that fed the city its water. "What vile villainy do you have planned, foul beast?"

The dragon turned its mighty head and examined Sir Valiant with each eye. "Pardon? I'm gathering samples." Clasped lightly between two claws was an impossibly small phial, which the creature filled with water. "Just being clear. You haven't been dumping your waste in this stream, have you? That would skew my study."

"I've kept my refuse in a pit I dug far away, lest my scent warn you of my presence."

This greatly relieved the dragon. "Oh good. There's no undue contamination." It paused to make some marks on the phial before adding it to a bag strapped to its body. "My name is Brightscale, and I'm conducting a sample survey of the effect of human civilisation on microbiota in the waterways."

Sir Valiant said, "What?"

His education in the weirdness of the world began with that question. Brightscale had to simplify her complicated words to the point where she said, "I'm searching for invisible demons in the water." And then showed him the magic that made them visible.

It was called a 'microscope' and for Sir Valiant, it was a very large tool that let him peer into the world of dancing beasts that no mortal eye could ordinarily see. It was horrifying.

"Those are the ones that are natural. Part of the world as it's meant to be." Brightscale swapped out a different sample. "These are the ones coming out of that city, downstream."

Pandemonium. Dis. The single drop of water held a throng of different demons. Some of which split into copies every second he watched. It was chaos. It was hell on this earth. Prayer wouldn't make them disappear. "How can we best these foes?" he demanded.

"Still working on that part," confessed Brightscale. "A contempora-- ahem. A friend I'm working with is looking at ways to turn... crap... into fuel that won't spread these... demons... any further. Initial results- I mean, it's not looking good so far. But we're hopeful for a stroke of genius."

And since she spoke like the learned elite without sneering at him in the process, Sir Valiant had to believe her. He had seen what she was doing. He could see what she was doing in other places. He could follow her progress. He believed that she was telling the truth. "I know when you visit certain places. May I know how your quest goes?"

"Of course. I'm always happy to share the results of my research."

"And... should I tell the city of these demons?"

Brightscale considered this. "Don't. First, it would alter their behaviour and that would change my results. Second, people always get the wrong ideas when it's down to the 'invisible demons' level of understanding. We're aiming for a solution that would minimise -uh- let you all carry on as always."

"Then I am sworn to secrecy," said Sir Valiant. "I will only tell them that you are on a quest for a greater good, and I am sworn to protect you in your endeavour."

Brightscale thanked him before going on her way.

[Image (c) Can Stock Photo / artoptimum]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me. Or share them with your friends!

Send me a prompt [29 remaining prompts!]

Support me on Patreon / Buy me a Ko-fi

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

Sort:  

I think that's the cutest conversation I've read done by you so far XD

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64359.49
ETH 2619.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83