Challenge #02053-E229: Bohemian NightssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction6 years ago

canstockphoto9210412.jpg

[Title: Bohemian Rhapsody: A Space Opera] [what happens when the night-owl Humans take over the interstellar comms] -- Anon Guest

[AN: Can you please not have your titles be part of my prompts? It fucks up my routine to a rather major degree.]

Dead air. Silence. These things are anathema to the human mind. To them, there is such a thing as too quiet. Lock a Human in an anechoic chamber and they will go mad... And this was why the Party Line was invented. To keep Humans from going insane in the silence of the too-quiet hours.

It took thirty seconds for it to become a writhing pit of memetic perpetuation.

"Is this thing on?" said a voice in the darkness. "Can anyone hear me?"

"No," said four other voices in the darkness.

"It's three minutes past midnight, and I can't sleep."

Fifteen voices said, "Same." Twenty said, "Mood."

Someone sang, "It's a quarter after one, I'm a little drunk and I need you ba-a-abe..."

And then it happened. An imitation of a childlike voice asked, "Is this real life?"

Some other wag followed immediately with, "Is this just fantasy?"

And fifty voices all raised in song. "Caught in a landslide/ no escape from reality..."

Galactic Society had heard hundreds of Humans joined in song before, but this was the first time that hundreds of Humans had joined in song over lines of communication whilst they were separated by Astral Units of measurement.

The net effect was more than sobering.

Billions of miles apart. Linked only by a shared audio line. Different colours, different cultures, different creeds. All had one thing in common.

The Human Anthem.

It crossed the galaxy. It crossed wormholes. It traversed the gulfs of space and brought them all together.

And it was quite a sight to see the night-shift Human head-banging and gyrating to a song inside their heads as they sang along with the Human chorus.

[Image (c) Can Stock Photo / Krisdog]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me. Or share them with your friends!

Send me a prompt [32 remaining prompts!]

Support me on Patreon / Buy me a Ko-fi

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

Sort:  

I love how Bohemian Rhapsody is "The Human Anthem" XD

Maybe stop doing prompts that have the title as part of the prompt and people will start getting the hint when you stop using their title prompts?

'Tis a thought. But there are some prompts that just... don't make sense without the title.

I should do it anyway. That'll teach 'em.

Yeh that's what I mean, if the prompt doesn't make sense without the title and you don't want people to send in prompts that use the title as part of the prompt, don't use those prompts XD

Alternately is there a way to remove/hide the title field so that people simply can't use it as part of the prompt?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68228.72
ETH 3279.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67