Challenge #02044-E220: One Post-Near-Wipe-Experience in a Dark and Dismal DungeonsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction6 years ago

canstockphoto18157152.jpg

(Person 1): You Idiot!
(Person 2): I'm sure you're right, but why? -- TheDragonsFlame

"Okay," sighed Fanrel. "From the top. We're rescuing villagers from an evil cult that's into blood sacrifices. We use out best stealth to creep up on them while they're busy with the chanting. We're all nearly in position... and then you decide to leap up, scatter marbles all over the place and yell, 'Oo ma, oo ma, I can see your nickie-nahs'."

"It disrupted the ceremony," protested Jorgax.

"Ye-e-es," Fanrel allowed, hanging on the fraying end of her last nerve. "And it also rendered the ceremonial chamber difficult terrain, blew our cover, and gained us the attention of a relatively minor C'thuloid entity which, I might add, is still fucking dangerous beans. Half our party nearly died."

"Okay, in my defense..."

"No."

"Aaawww..."

"We all know how this goes when you start an argument with 'in my defense'. This will not end well and we all know it."

Jorgax sighed and pouted, handing out healing potions and med kits to those who were scraping themselves up off the ceremonial floor.

Fanrel cracked. "Fine. Say it. Get it out of your system."

"I had a few reasons, really," said Jorgax, ignoring Fanrel's half-vocalised moan. "One: they were dancing at the time and the marbles served a practical purpose. Two: the ritual had to be turned profane, and that's a relative term, and the thing I shouted was the first thing in my head... uhm. Three? I thought... it'd... be... funny?"

"Aaaannnnd there it is," sighed Fanrel. "Deaf Gods help me and protect me from idiot teammates who go with the first funny thought in their fluffy little heads!"

Nemro, the Cleric, said, "Shouldn't you be signing to deaf gods?"

"CASE IN FUCKING POINT," raged Fanrel. "It's always the same thing. Every time we go anywhere."

[Image (c) Can Stock Photo / realchemyst]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me. Or share them with your friends!

Send me a prompt [33 remaining prompts!]

Support me on Patreon / Buy me a Ko-fi

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68221.63
ETH 3277.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66