Challenge #02025-E201: One Confounding Encounter on Argus SeventeensteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction6 years ago

canstockphoto6324721.jpg

Like all great things in life, you need to poke it to get it to do anything. -- TheDragonsFlame

Draes boggled at the merchant. "That is such a uniquely Human phrase," ze said. "Is it absolutely true? Will patience reward those who wait?"

"Uh. No," said the merchant. "If you wait, it does nothing. You have to interact with it to make it go."

"Hmf," again, almost typically Human. Hir own peoples much preferred a fully automatic system. Humans were compelled to twiddle. They liked to finesse their machines. "I will take a sample machine for my kind to adapt to our own needs. We have far more important things to do than micro-manage a machine."

The merchant said, "I guessed. I keep trying to explain it to them, but... you know Humans."

"Not personally," said Draes, with an agreeing tone. "Their reputation is vast and confusing."

"I concur entirely. And worse for others is the fact that their ways are... infectious."

"Is there anything to be done about that? You seem to be suffering," said Draes.

The merchant rearranged some stock as they pondered this question and its answer. "I have yet to find any means," they allowed. "And I do not sense that I am suffering at all."

"Perhaps," allowed Draes, "this is the true terror of Humans."

Perhaps it was.

[Image (c) Can Stock Photo / Pitr]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me. Or share them with your friends!

Send me a prompt [38 remaining prompts!]

Support me on Patreon / Buy me a Ko-fi

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58415.58
ETH 2485.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39