Challenge #01937-E113: Very Important ToolssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction6 years ago

canstockphoto2796201.jpg

Why on Earth would you ever need more than one of those? -- Anon Guest

"Listen. There is a philosophy about the right tool for the right job. And these tools all have a different job."

"But six different spatulas? Why?"

"This one's best for scrambling. This one's best for tossing. This one can flip a pancake with ease. This one is good for chasing things around on a griddle," the chef laid them out as he spoke. "This one's excellent for getting into those tight little corners on those square pans, and this lovely little darling is best for serving."

His apprentice boggled. Pointed out the one that was apparently for serving. "I'd just use that one for everything."

"And that," insisted the chef, "is why you fail. That's why you get those huge chunks of scramble instead of a light fluff, and why your pancakes keep breaking or deforming. Trust me. I've been at this longer than you've been alive. Learn the shapes. Learn the purposes. Try using the right tool for the right job."

The apprentice grumbled something about too much washing up, but made scrambled eggs and pancakes according to the master's rigorous instructions. And it was true. The scrambling spatula was perfect for making fluffy little grains of scrambled egg. And the flipping spatula was just the right angle and width for scooping up a pancake and flipping it without breaking or deforming the work in progress.

"See, padawan?" said the chef. "When presentation is important, so are the correct tools."

"I'm guessing this is why you have five different mixing machines?"

"Oh, no. That's because I hoard kitchen gadgets. Can't stay away from the clever little shits."

[Image (c) Can Stock Photo / mflippo]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me. Or share them with your friends!

Send me a prompt [18 remaining prompts!]

Support me on Patreon / Buy me a Ko-fi

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75