Challenge #01905-E081: Who, Me?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

canstockphoto13241461.jpg

Excuses both lame and creative. -- Knitnan

Of all the forces of creativity, imagination, and progenitation available, nothing in the known universe is more powerful and simultaneously more inept than a small child who has been caught out, and is desperately digging to get themselves out of the hole they are already in.

"Uhm," said Kae. Elbow-deep in the cookie jar. There was no denying that her hand was in there, and there could be some debate that she was, indeed, taking a cookie without permission. But, there was still an 'out'. "It's not for me," she said.

"It can't be for Mister Pookie," said Mom. "We made Invisible Cookies for him and they're still in the Invisible Cookie Jar." Mom pointed to the spot where it was and lifted the invisible lid. "Yep. Mister Pookie has better cookie manners than some people I can think of."

Kae couldn't argue that the invisible cookies were horse puckies. That would mean admitting that Mister Pookie was horse puckies. She thought quick. "Of course not. There's this lost kid hiding in our shrubbery and they're real hungry and scared of everything except me so I went and... I went to get 'em a cookie."

"Uhuh," said Mom, in her I'm-not-believing-this-for-a-second voice. "Well, I nearly have dinner done, so why don't you invite your new friend in for dinner and you can both have a cookie after you've eaten your vegetables?"

POOPIES! Kae wracked her brains. "Uuuuuuhhh..." quick. Quick. "They're scared of adults. And -uh- they... they're -uhm- they got this religion? Where it's bad to eat whole food?"

"Never heard of that one. What's it called?" Mom had her phone out, now, ready to give it a google.

Kae let go of the cookie and put the lid back on the jar. Heaved a deep sigh. Said, "I'm sorry." And trudged over to the Naughty Spot like a condemned criminal. Which she was.

Mom giggled, which meant that Kae might have time off for a good laugh. "Nice try, kiddo. You'll make that imagination pay the rent one day."

Kae sulked as she watched the spiders in the corner. Life was just not fair.

[Image (c) Can Stock Photo / bradcalkins]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me.

Send me a prompt [10 remaining prompts!]

Support me on Patreon / Buy me a Ko-fi

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

Sort:  

So so so cool post. Good for you @internutter

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63277.26
ETH 2570.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82