Challenge #01890-E066: One Firelit Evening in the Middle of Nowhere

in #fiction6 years ago

canstockphoto1256069.jpg

“I am fire! I am death!”
*Pokes [Person 2] with a stick -- TheDragonsFlame

"Dave... we get it. You made fire with some sticks and shit. That does not make you king of the mountain or even king of fire. This is a skill that cavemen could do, Dave. Cave. Men."

"None of you assholes could do it," said Dave. At least he'd stopped jabbing his 'fire stick' around while he was jubilantly dancing.

"Still fuckin' hurt, Dave," said Bob, rubbing his arm. "That thing was hot."

"Dur. I just started a fire with it."

There was a chorus of, "We know, Dave," from Bob and Marty.

The fire grew, and Dave calmed down. Eventually. They knew some of the basics of survival shit. A bright fire by night and a smoky fire by day. But they had few clues about what food looked like in the wild. Or, to quote Terry Pratchett, what might be edible more than once.

"Okay. Fire good," said Marty. If there's anyone else out there, they can find us. But... uhm. What are we gonna eat?"

Dave made the 'I dunno' noise.

"There's palm trees," said Bob. "There could be dates. Or coconuts."

There was a contemplative silence as Dave started throwing things into the fire. "Does anyone know how to climb a palm tree? Or what a coconut looks like on the vine?" said Marty.

"They grow on the palm trees."

"Whatever."

Another contemplative silence as the fire burned on.

"Did we find fresh water?"

Dave was staring at the flames. "Okay. So maybe fire isn't that much hot shit."

There was a cheer from Marty and Bob.

[Image (c) Can Stock Photo / Pietus]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me.

Send me a prompt [13 remaining prompts!]

Support me on Patreon / Buy me a Ko-fi

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59077.53
ETH 2518.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48