Challenge #01726-D265: One Natural TwentysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction7 years ago

canstockphoto103128.jpg

"I'm gonna need you to punch me in the face."
"Sure thing!"
"I'm a little worried that you didn't ask for a reason..." -- OohLookShiny

"There has to be a reason?" said Magnus. "I mean, I like punching and fighting and stuff..."

"Yes," said Taako. "That is true. But listen. We're friends. You should at least pretend that it's some kind of moral quandary for you."

Magnus clearly did not understand. "How's that?"

"We don't punch our friends, Magnus."

"But you just asked me to..."

The elfin wizard sighed. "Look. I've already convinced these stupid guards that I'm their best pal."

"Ahuh."

"I didn't even have to burn a spell slot or anything."

"Yup. I was hiding around the corner for that part."

"Well done, dear. They have Merle in one of their cells and it's up to me to bust him out because they'd just use their fantasy tasers and lock you up as well."

"With you so far."

"So I need a cunning ruse to get in and unlock the cells, but get rid of them at the same time."

"Yeah..."

"And that's why I need you to punch me in the face a few times."

"Okay!" Magnus eagerly made a fist. Grinning at the thought.

"And you don't need to be that eager to do it," said Taako.

"Can I just punch you now and get on with this? Or do we have to keep arguing about this until the guards hear us and bust open the whole schtick?"

Taako thought about this. "Ugh. Fine. But I reserve the right to be salty about this later."

Magnus punched him. Unfortunately, he rolled a natural twenty and knocked Taako out flat. "Oopsy."

Somehow, Merle sensed this. Locked in his cell, he muttered, "First time in this adventure that he's rolled anything above six and it's against our own Pan-damned side..."

[Image (c) Can Stock Photo / Fotosmurf]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me.

Send me a prompt [17 remaining prompts!]

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

Sort:  

i dont understand is this a fake story or true story or what??

Under Fiction tag and Flash Fiction so fake

Most definitely fake. I've been listening to The Adventure Zone and can't resist doing funny things with the characters.

That is nice story @ internutter,

"There has to be a reason?" said Magnus. "I mean, I like punching and fighting and stuff..."

"Yes," said Taako. "That is true. But listen. We're friends. You should at least pretend that it's some kind of moral quandary for you."

I'm guessing the dice/die and natural 20 is somehow related to D&D? I haven't seen dice like that since my mates at school would play. Or am I completely off? :)

You're correct The Adventure Zone is a D&D podcast starring the McElroys. Well worth a listen.

Thank you for posting this lovely moment in time for you. Followed...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68394.60
ETH 3288.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67