Challenge #01621-D160: Brothers? Useless.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction7 years ago

canstockphoto20836367.jpg

"Yes! I have brothers, and none of them know one end of a spanner from another, Or bother to read the manuals." Lady mechanic fixes Male breakdown person. Anti-trope the Heck out of this. -- Knitnan

Broken down in the middle of nowhere and no cell service. "This is how every horror movie ever starts," Dan whined.

"You got some tools in this heap?" asked Pixie. "Maybe I could have a look and see what's going on."

Dan didn't scoff. It was the 21st Century. Women were allowed to try and fail, just like men. He opened his boot and said, "Knock yourself out."

Pixie did not knock herself out. She rolled up her sleeves and got into the engine in a way calculated to get things done, not titillate. "Yup. Loose spark plug. Try it now, and be careful not to flood it."

The engine turned over and purred. Dan stopped her again and helped pack everything away. "How'd you learn to do that? Bunch of brothers?"

"Yeah, I have brothers, but they're all thumbs when it comes to anything mechanical. I taught myself how to do all of this from Youtube and Wikihow. And reading the stupid manual. And I make rent fixing my dumb-ass brothers' cars. All four of them." It was telling that she had industrial soap in her purse and a packet of Superwipes to get the grease off of her. "And by the way, your heap needs new oil. Next service station, you're getting some. No arguments."

He saluted. "Ma'am, yes Ma'am." But it was still a long way from the next pit stop. And Dan had questions for his girlfriend. "So... uh..."

"Yes, I do have a pink toolkit. Dad got it for me as a joke when I was sixteen. Took me ages to get the Hello Kitty he'd bedazzled onto the lid off of it. Sent entirely the wrong message, thanks Dad."

Dan couldn't help but laugh. Hello Kitty was, amongst many other pop culture icons, popular amongst the LGBT+ set. Having her emblazoned on anything one used regularly was to have pickup lines from unexpected vectors. "What did you do with the gems?"

"Oh, I put Hello Kitty on my Nightclub Jacket. I'm bi, not braindead. What I did not need was random dudebros trying to 'convince' me that I could be straight if I wanted."

Dan scoffed. "Idiots." Of all the fun she could be having with anyone she liked, he felt honoured that she chose him. "They don't know what they're missing."

"And I'm glad they do."

[Image (c) Can Stock Photo / gvictoria]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me.

Send me a prompt [13 remaining prompts!]

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58836.39
ETH 2494.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44