Challenge #01617-D156: Reaching OutsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction7 years ago

canstockphoto118185.jpg

What if someone decided they would not 'Get Even', what if they thought this 'payback with interest has gone on long enough' and just walked away from the whole mess. -- Knitnan

Those who fail to learn from the lessons of history, it is said, are doomed to repeat them. This is not just limited to those who fail their History tests. The moving finger may have written, but it tends to write in circles. Ninety percent of all wars are declared out of revenge for the previous war.

There are no accurate battle cries that go, "Remember the last atrocity that they committed against us that justifies the atrocities that we are about to commit on them!" If there were, there might be less wars. If leaders were honest about riling up hatred for the enemy, there would be less people eager to fight them. But that's why propaganda exists.

In this country, there has always been a war against evil. Against oppressors, against violence, against those who have the resources that we want, but honesty should never enter politics. History should never enter politics, either, or people would learn how often the actions of Leaders in the past have lead directly to the troubles of today. People could easily learn that their own country is its worst enemy. And then what would they do?

For years, we have had to hate the others. They are not like us. They are invading the country via refugee boats. Taking our jobs. Wanting to introduce their oppressive and sexist laws on those who don't follow their outlandish religion. They're the most likely to be terrorists. Their culture is a culture of hate. That's all that we've been told.

Groups of them have been attacking their own people in the name of their God. Blowing up their own hospitals and clinics. Making their own country an unlivable nightmare, so it's no surprise that those who can leave, try to. They come to us because we're a bastion of sanity against the woes of spreading hate.

They come in desperation, hoping for a better place to live.

I'm told I should hate them for everything they did. I'm told I should shun them and let them die. But I cannot. My own holy writ tells me otherwise. My own book tells me to be kind to those in need. And those people who I welcome remember. They were welcomed by someone they were told to hate. They have less reason to hate anyone like me.

It's there for anyone to read in the Holy Quran, "God does not forbid you from being good to those who have not fought you in the religion or driven you from your homes, or from being just towards them."

[Image (c) Can Stock Photo / anirav]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me.

Send me a prompt [11 remaining prompts!]

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68228.72
ETH 3279.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67