Challenge #01599-D138: Manifested DestinysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction7 years ago

canstockphoto40370233.jpg

But the [Tech] is on the fritz due to what I believe would be classified as 'bombardment by an angry god', which violates your warranty, as we all know. -- RecklessPrudence

The Smudger hemmed and hawed over the broom. Ran a pendulum over the length of it and whistled backwards, the sure sign that something expensive was about to happen. "Are you sure you haven't angered any gods?" they said.

"Not to my knowledge," said Duji. She had her knitting out because it had already been ten minutes. "I always try to stay on their good side, me. You never know when it's going to be helpful."

The Smudger lit some incense and carried the burner under the bristles. "None of your ancestors ticked off a supreme power? They're the ones that go in for cursing until the somethingth generation."

"I wouldn't know," said Duji. Clicketty clicketty went her needles. "I was raised as an orphan. Is there a way to check that sort of thing?"

"You'd have to consult the auguries at the temple. Sacrifice regularly?"

"Oh yes. Every Wednesday, regular as clockwork."

The Smudger hummed dubiously and handed Duji a small container of toothpicks. "Throw those up into the air for me?"

They landed in a rather ornate arrow.

"Ah. You're ignoring an inherent destiny. Easy to fix. Your broom will only behave when you go in the direction you're meant to go. Bit of a pain in the canker, but you've been oblivious for so long that the portents shouldn't be hard to miss."

"Oh dear," murmured Duji. "Should I really go adventuring at seventy-eight?"

"Ma'am," said the Smudger. "You have a clear destiny. If I were you, I'd get on with it or the gods might curse you with immortality."

[Image (c) Can Stock Photo / Shaiith]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me.

Send me a prompt [11 remaining prompts!]

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

Sort:  

Good short story. Are you going to continue this story? A 78 year old lady on an adventure. Definitely different. Thanks for sharing and Keep on Steemin'!

It all depends on how many prompts it sparks. If this concept gets popular, I might invest some time in it. I always have a random ideas file, and this will stay in there until something makes it interesting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61133.31
ETH 2887.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64