Challenge #01526-D065: Goods and ServicessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

canstockphoto33463053.jpg

Oh fuck that noise, screw that sound, hump that harmonic, bang that bass, fornicate with that frequency and fuck me! -- RecklessPrudence

In all of Galactic Society, the most alarming feature to most human societies is the simple fact that sex work and mental therapy have homogenised into a harmonious whole. Humans have had an interesting relationship with the mechanics of their own reproduction and, despite some centuries af adjustment, are still hung up about it.

Case in point, most of the accumulated populations of most of the Greater Deregulations. Very few of them have a charitable attitude to one designated gender in particular, and anyone they view as 'lesser'. And, like most civilisations based on an unattainable ideal of purity, they are floundering in a sea of civilisations that are more... well... civilised, and use all of their potential work-force. They also have a regrettable tendency to pollute their own environment to the point where it's nigh-unlivable. But that's not the subject of this analysis.

Take expatriot of Greater Deregulation Lower West, Adam Adamson. He was once a person who believed in ancient ideals. The supremacy of man, especially a man who had a lack of melanin, was one of them. 'Might makes right' was another. He also believed that if he worked hard and obeyed orders, he would subsequently rise to greatness. Or at least a better style of living. He was one of the many betrayed by the Greater Deregulation way of life. Today, he is shopping for a therapist.

His soccasins state that he is off duty. The large duffelcoat, on the other hand, screams that he is trying to remain unobserved in the most obvious and observable way possible. His hunched attitude and guarded way of moving caught everyone's attention in a cold second. Nobody who was reared in Galactic Society considers seeking out a therapist to be a shameful activity. And no therapist ever considers themself in a shameful occupation, nor dresses for overt display.

Therapist Teal took mercy on him and tapped him on the shoulder. Almost scaring the life out of him. "You look like you could use a nice, calming, cup of tea."

Adamson, red-faced to the point of nearly passing out, squeaked, "....it isn't going to happen now is it?"

"Are you an exhibitionist?" asked Teal.

"Uh... what?"

"I'll take that as a 'no'. We can take a public table in the tea house or a booth if you prefer... discretion."

"...not sure I wanna fuck in either of those places," mumbled Adamson.

"I'm not sure that's what you want at all," said Teal. "So why keep bringing it up?"

"That's- that's what you do. Isn't it?"

"It's only a small percentage of my possible therapeutic avenues. It is not, as you seem to think, the only thing I do." She was already guiding him gently towards Chai Hopes Drink, the aforementioned tea house. "If you decide to hire me on a regular basis, I would first work on your socio-cultural restraints before attempting any kind of haptic reward therapy."

"Uh... what?"

"Translated into common speech, I'd get you relaxed about doing it before I even tried doing it."

Adamson attempted to process this. Alas, his cultural background forced him to blurt, "Wait. Even the whores are frigid in this place?"

Teal rolled her eyes. "I see you need a lot of work done. Let's start with: therapists are not whores. Repeat that, please."

"Sorry. Therapists are not whores." He let her pour the tea and warmed his hands on the cup. "I'm from GD-Lower West. I was told I needed a dedicated therapist and my mind went..."

"Straight to the gutter. I so gathered." She gracefully picked up her cup and blew across its surface before she put it down again. "As you can see, it need not remain in the gutter. We are just potential employer and employee, interviewing each other. Nothing more. Unless that is what you happen to need." Now she took a small sip. "And I am very good at judging what someone else needs."

He aped her motions. The tea was hot, and tasted like frangipani perfume smelled. "I still feel dirty doing this."

She smiled welcomingly. "Then let's talk about that, to start."

[Image (c) Can Stock Photo / Sutichak]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me.

Send me a prompt [13 remaining prompts!]

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68228.72
ETH 3279.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67