Challenge #01525-D064: A Powerful TalismansteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction8 years ago

canstockphoto16647184.jpg

Call it what you will, Linus, Blankie, Comfort Rug. A square or rectangle of worked fibre, knitted, crocheted out of bits of yarn something soft and warm to hang on to in times of stress. -- Knitnan

"Honestly, Farraq, this is the slowest evacuation in the known universe."

"Sorry, boss," the human had something colourful bundled under one arm. "Can't leave anywhere without my Snoog."

P'treth boggled at the human merc as they writhed their way through an airlock made for a smaller people than a fully-armoured human. "Snoog," he repeated. "Is this a human thing, a cultural thing, or a Farraq thing?"

"It's my thing," said Farraq. He had to sit on the floor, owing to his bulk in comparison to the rest of the Rik'oq'i crew. "It's been my thing since I was tiny. Gram-gram made it for me and it's been my proof against nightmares ever since. Anything scary happens? I know I'm alright because I got my Snoog." He currently embraced the mass of crocheted yarn, which was folded into quarters.

This was a being that had been proof against every normal fear that the Universe had to offer. A being who could go in against the Vorax and come out the other side triumphant.

P'treth strapped himself in and activated the escape pod. "It is a safe artifact, yes?"

Farraq grinned. "Of course all o' y'all can borrow it. Gram-gram made it to help calm folks down." He unfurled the colourful expanse and spread as much of it between the terrified Rik'oq'i. "Y'all'll be all right, now. We got my Snoog."

If it was enough to keep a human feeling safe and secure against a Deathworlder's worst nightmares, then it was certainly a talisman to keep everyone aboard the escape pod calm all the way back to civilisation.

P'treth kept a solid grip on one corner for the entire trip.

[AN: Who the flakk calls it a Linus?]

[Image (c) Can Stock Photo / TsuneoMP]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me.

Send me a prompt [14 remaining prompts!]

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

Sort:  

So that was quite possibly more adorable than it should have been XD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54