Challenge #01507-D046: In MemoriumsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction7 years ago

GeneralOrganab6559.png

No matter how I go, I want it reported that I drowned in moonlight, strangled by my own bra. - Carrie Fisher -- RecklessPrudence

Official reports be damned. There was a way she wanted to be remembered, and that is how those who loved her reported it. All over the world. Even in the news. They named the official cause, but added, "she wanted it known that she drowned in moonlight, strangled by her own bra."

It was poetry, and it persisted. For as long as they loved her. Which was a shockingly long time.

"Did she really," said Shayde, evidently playing 'catch up' during her daily shift in her Ambassadorial offices.

Rael, also processing Ambassadorial paperwork, did not look up. "I can't answer a non-sequiteur and you know it."

"Says 'ere Carrie Fisher drowned in moonlight. Strangled by her own bra." She tapped the screen for emphasis. "Did she really?"

Rael considered the imagery for a solid minute. After his brain got a cramp from the effort, he said, "How is that even physically possible?"

Shayde only had a shrug.

Rael looked it up, sufficiently diverted and checked the date. "This is a pre-Shattering event. It can't be possible." He contacted the Archiivas responsible for sending Shayde news from her time about the discrepancy.

The ping back read, It was as she wished it reported, and nothing more.

"Sounds like a way to go out, mind," said Shayde. "Besides peacefully in yer sleep, ye ken."

O Powers. The conversation had turned macabre. "Or betrayed by your own genes at an unspecified end-run time," he said. It was his predicted cause of death, and his makers were stingy with his predicted time limit. On purpose, the flakkers. "Or simply... betrayed by your own genes."

"Could be worse," said Shayde. "Ye could be effectively immortal, agin' slowly an' watching everyone you know and love age and die all around ye."

Crap. This one was going to take more than cake and a small adventure. "If it looks like I'm going, I'll use all my savings to make you an effectively-immortal Augment to keep you company. How's that?"

"Jus' remember I'm a cat person, aye?"

"Aye," he echoed. Then he contemplated how, exactly, anyone could possibly drown in moonlight.

[AN: So long, Carrie, and thanks for all the adventures]

[Image source (follow them, they're cool) ]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me.

Send me a prompt [14 remaining prompts!]

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68228.72
ETH 3279.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67