Challenge #01484-D023: Subtle DangerssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction8 years ago

canstockphoto1925861004aa5.jpg

Why should I go crazy when I can just as easily wait for it right here. Who wants gum? - Carrie Fisher -- RecklessPrudence

Something had to exist that did not like quiet, and M'prax was reasonably certain that it was the Ship's Human. The dangerous deathworlders had a reputation for being unstoppable protectors and, more to the point, profitable creatures to have. But they were also... well... deathworlders.

It was hard not to think of the being named Sally as an unstoppable killing machine with unpredictable whims and a completely random nature. Mad, bad, and dangerous to know, as one of their number once said about themselves. The crew was fast getting used to human boredom and took steps to avoid it. But this... this was different.

The human took to warmer places to stay. Wrapped themselves up in layers of insulating blankets. They increased their intake of treat food. Watched entertainments that made their eyes leak.

M'prax, concerned, edged up on Sally during her nutrient absorption times and enquired, "Are you undergoing a biological stress?"

"Huh? What? No," Sally shook her head. "I'm... lonely I guess. Feeling the lack of positive haptic feedback."

"I wasn't aware that this was a deathworlder need."

"It's a human need. We're pack creatures. We like to touch and be touched."

"That is not a possibility," said M'prax. "We are too fragile, we cannot assist."

"Yeah," mourned Sally. "You and every other cogniscent for five jumps. It's getting to my head..."

M'prax knew that metaphor. "This is effecting your mental health?"

"I might not go crazy," allowed Sally. "I'll just wait for it to come to me." A laugh that had nothing to do with humour. "I hear there's some other humans at Podunk Station. Maybe them and I could hook up. But I have to wait until we're near enough to Podunk, and..." she shrugged. "It's not profitable to go there, yet."

"This is not a profitable situation," announced M'prax. "I will talk to the Captain."

Sally showed her teeth, a human sign of pleasure. "Thanks. You're a real pal."

She might not have said that if she knew that M'prax's report to the captain was, "The human is in danger of going more insane than usual! We have to divert to Podunk Station."

[Image (c) Can Stock Photo / JackF]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me.

Send me a prompt [14 remaining prompts!]

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63550.59
ETH 2644.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81