Project Proxy (An Original Techno-Thriller) Chapter 11

in #fiction7 years ago

Project Proxy_20170919130909794.jpg


CHAPTER ELEVEN


Back at the holiday house, Jake and Danny entered the office.

Jake locked the door behind them and Danny took his previous sitting position. Jake walked to his computer desk, opened the top drawer and took out a brown envelope.

"Here is your payment for today's services," Jake said as he placed the envelope on top of the small table in front of Danny.

He sat down on the other couch.

"It's good doing business with you, Jake."

Danny took the envelope, opened it to check the contents and then he quickly folded it and put it in his pocket.

"Fifteen thousand dollars. You can count it if you like."

"No, it's okay. If it's short I can always come back to you," Danny said.

"Sure you can," Jake replied.

Both of them laughed.

"So, do you have any queries concerning your next moves?"

"No, it's pretty clear that once I get the smartphone, and login, I'll be in direct contact with you. If I have any queries, I'll inform you then."

"Okay then. You should get going if you are to login before eleven."

Jake stood up.

"Right," Danny said and stood up also.

He shook hands with Jake.

"Thank you. I'm looking forward to finishing the mission."

"I know I can count on you. I'll see you on LINK."

"Yeah, see you on LINK."

They left the office and went outside to the parking area, where Danny's crew was waiting for him by their truck. Antonio, who had just climbed down from the roof, was there too.

"All set?"

"Everything is packed and we are ready to go boss," Antonio answered.

"Alright then, thank you for your services gentlemen. "I'll be sure to contact you the next time I need you," Jake said.

"Not a problem. It's been a pleasure," Danny said.

All five men shook hands with Jake, and then entered their cars and left the residence. Both cars drove to Danny's apartment first, for a quick meeting.

The five men parked the cars in front of his apartment, went in and sat around the dining table.

When they were all seated, Danny took out the envelope from his pocket and held it in his hand.

"This, guys, is our reward after a hard day's work, or should I just say a day's work? We can't really say it was hard now, can we?"

"I think it's safe to say that this was easy money," Ricardo said.

"I don't know. I prefer calling today's work a risky day's work. We were dealing with a high profile person today. People like that often come with all kinds of risks, you know."

"Yes, you're right Antonio. I think we did earn this money, if you look at it that way," Joe said.

"How much are we getting anyway?" Rick asked.

Ricardo couldn't help but grin at the fact that Danny had told him how much they were getting paid, before everyone else. He almost answered Rick's question himself, being filled with excitement, but another thought came to his mind.

What if the boss wanted to test my sense of discretion. He probably thinks I've told them already. What if he lied to me about the amount? I'll definitely look like a fool if I speak out now.

"Three thousand dollars each. That's how much," Danny said.

"Wow. You're well connected, boss," Antonio said.

"And they are all Franklins too," he added when he saw Danny take the money out of the envelope.

"Yeah, that's what I'm talking about," Joe said.

Danny began counting the money and sorted it into groups of three-thousand, and the others watched him do it. When he had finished counting, he handed out the cash; first to Antonio, who was seated to his left, then to Ricardo on his right and then finally to Joe and Rick in front of him.

"Everyone happy?"

Danny pocketed his three thousand, and added, "I am."

"Yes, thank you boss," they all said.

"Good. I'm paid; you are paid, so let's call it a night. I really need some sleep now."

Danny stood up.

The rest of the group stood up too.

"I'm sure some of us are going to have dreams of how to spend this cash, right guys?"

The others just nodded and laughed as they walked out of Danny's apartment.

The men drove to Antonio's house; where they left the car, firearms and other equipment. Joe, Rick and Ricardo walked to their respective homes, since they lived near Antonio's.

continues in Chapter 12...


Copyright © Innocent Mwatsikesimbe

Thank you for reading my work.


previous Chapters

Chapter 1
Chapter 2
Chapter 3
Chapter 4
Chapter 5
Chapter 6
Chapter 7
Chapter 8
Chapter 9
Chapter 10
Chapter 11

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63964.02
ETH 2592.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75