Project Proxy (An Original Techno-Thriller) Chapter 7

in #fiction7 years ago

Project Proxy_20170917111037156.jpg


CHAPTER SEVEN


"Honey, I'm home," Rupert said as he entered the kitchen.

"Good evening, honey. Did you have a good day at work?"

Sylvia was preparing dinner.

"Well, there was nothing particularly bad about it. It was just busy, and I also brought some homework with me too."

"I guess you are going to have late nights from now on. But don't worry, I'll be here for you if you need some support," she said.

"I know I can count on you for support. Well, anyway, the only thing I did like about my new job is the office. It is amazing. It's like high-end executive style, you know. Great view of the city, a library, a fish tank and an artificial waterfall. You really should see it."

"It sounds exquisite. It must be a welcome change from your old workspace."

"Oh, trust me it is," he said.

As he finished this statement, Jane came into the room, running to him.

"Daddy!"

"Hi Jane, baby. How are you today?"

Rupert picked her up and held her in his arms.

"I'm fine, Daddy," she said.

"I'm almost done with the dinner. You two can sit at the table now," Sylvia said.

Rupert and Jane went and sat on the dining table. Shortly after, Sylvia came with the meal and served it, and they began to eat.

"I've started working on the review now."

"Really? How is it going?"

"I haven't gone far yet. I'll work on it tonight, there's quite a lot to be done."

"And the weekend? Will you work on it throughout the weekend?"

"Most probably," Rupert said.

"Okay."

"Is something wrong honey?"

"No. It's nothing," she said.

"You don't have to worry about me. I'll be done with it soon," he said.

They ate dinner, but Rupert noticed Sylvia's sudden and unexpected withdrawal from any further conversation. She just nodded as Rupert went on talking. After dinner, Sylvia and Jane went to sleep and Rupert stayed up working on the review on his laptop.

continues in Chapter 8


Copyright © Innocent Mwatsikesimbe

Thank you for reading my work.


previous Chapters

Chapter 1
Chapter 2
Chapter 3
Chapter 4
Chapter 5
Chapter 6
Chapter 7

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63498.69
ETH 2645.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80