Flash Fiction: First Date

in #fiction7 years ago

family-2485714_1280.jpg

image from Pixabay


"Remember our first date," he asks.

"Yeah. You had quite a lot to say," she answers.

"Mostly questions."

"Yeah."

"And you had very little to say, apparently. One word answers, a nod at times; you were a shy girl."

"But you kept pushing."

They both laughed.

"That probably stole my heart," she says. "You got me out of my shell, and encouraged me to just be myself."

"That's the person I loved. The real you," he says.

They stare at each other for a long while, special and familiar communication taking place. Their session is interrupted by a young girl's voice.

"Mommy, mommy! I'm done now, we can leave."

"Are you sure you've said goodbye to your dolls, dear?"

"Yes, mommy."

She runs over to her father and hugs him.

"I had so much fun with you Dad."

"I had fun too, dear," he says.

"So I'll see you next weekend again," she asks.

He looks to her mother.

She smiles and says, "It's okay. Sure, we'll be here next week too."

The girl, lightsome as ever, hops away with her mother. They make it to the driveway and enter the car.

"I can't wait to tell my other dad all the fun stuff we did today," she says.

Sort:  

Wow. Nice Story with twist ending. I liked it. If you keep creating these little gems. I will be sure to keep reading them. Thanks for the share.

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63177.41
ETH 2439.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58