MASSACRE IN OCUGGA: PART 3

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

This is a quick recap about the previous parts. Part 1 was about the birth of Ikembba to the family of Agudda. Agudda married Igibba because the first wife, Adunna, could not give birth to a male child. Adunna tried to kill Igibba when she was pregnant. She gave birth to Ikembba before she died. The revelation of this led to the death of Adunna. Some years later, Ikembba slumped as a result of the poison. He was healed in a way that was against the Chief Herbalist’s will. Read here.

The second part of this story was about Idimma and his son, Ikonna. Idimma told his son about the beginning and the end of his relationship with Agudda. He was a man on a mission. Read here.

imageSource edited by @imbigdee


CHAPTER THREE

The next thing I noticed, I was on the floor. I could not see anything but I heard the village cheering Agudda! Agudda!! Agudda!!!

He betrayed and hurt me. Tears rolled down Idimma’s face. His son walked up to him and cleaned his face. He hugged him tight and continued the story.

I was on the bare floor for minutes before I was carried to the village herbalist, Osigenne. He examined my eyes and told me it was Agadu that was inside.

Agadu is a powerful sandy-like poison that causes blindness when it comes in contact with the naked eyes.

Osigenne really tried for me. He told me I was lucky that it was small quantity that touched my eyes. Your grandmother wasn’t happy because she warned me and was scared I won’t see again. Meanwhile, the festival was fast approaching. Agudda would be crowned champion and have to pick a wife.

“Father, who did he pick? I really want to know.” His father sighed. He looked straight in his son’s eyes. He chose my beloved Adunna. His son screamed “why?”

He smiled. He saw the anger in his son’s eyes. It was the reaction he wanted all along. I wish I have an answer for you my son. He betrayed me, broke my heart and almost killed me. I was alone during the festival.

After the festival, I asked my mother who he married and she couldn’t tell me because of my health. It was Akukku and Itabba that broke the news to me. I almost committed suicide. He took everything from me. He paused to catch his breath.

Ikonna became so angry, he started punching the air. His father watched with amusement, he felt fulfilled. His plan was going on perfectly.

“Father, I am so angry right now. I promise you today; I will do everything I can to become the village champion even if I have to kill everyone".

“I know you will my son. I know you will". He held his son, he was shivering because of the rage inside. “Let us go inside, I will make you a delicious meal".

Akigga stood up with her walking stick, the children looked at her. The story about Ochugga got their full attention. She stretched her back before she sat down to continue the story.

Everything Idimma said to his son, Ikonna, was a lie. Akigga smiled. I will tell you what really happened.

Truly, Idimma promised his dying father to become the village champion but he was scared. He had only his mother and no family member or friends when he was growing up.

One evening, he met an elderly man carrying firewood and he helped him carry to his house. Odibbi was never married nor have any child. He was banned from the neighboring village due to his craftiness so he came to Ochugga to seek refuge.

He became Idimma’s first friend in Ochugga. He would sit him down and tell him different stories. Odibbi was not a wrestler but he taught him different ways he could cheat and win. He practically taught him to be cunny. Odibbi died in Idimma’s hands and as he has promised, he buried him. His mother noticed the changes in her son. She was happy that her son has become a man.

There was normally a youth wrestling tournament in the village to prepare them for the main event. It was for a day. Idimma had a plan for the tournament. He found his way to the front. A village elder even asked him why he did not participate like his mates, he lied that he was injured. He watched closely as his mates battled themselves.

Agudda won just as the villagers speculated. Why wouldn’t he be? He was trained by two former champions; his father and uncle. His mates lifted him up and chanted his name with excitement. Idimma got close to him till they eventually talked and that was the beginning of their friendship.


Chapter Four

imageSource


They became close even though Agudda’s father never liked him. He warned his son severally to be careful but he wouldn’t stop them from being friends. One sunny evening, they went to the stream to bath and play. On their way back, they met two girls going to stream with their calabash to fetch water. They were beautiful and stunning. It caught the attention of the boys. Agudda was shy but was encouraged by Idimma.

“I have a plan, follow me.” Idimma said.

When the girls were coming back, they saw two guys flat on the floor begging for water. They wanted to ignore but Adunna couldn’t. She approached them and knelt beside Agudda. He opened his eyes. He was happy the plan worked. She gave him water and her friend, Isissi, gave Idimma water. They did introduction and the girls were happy they helped. When the boys got home, Agudda jokingly bowed for his friend. “All hail the wisest man ever.” They laughed and talked more about the girls.

Agudda told his friend he would marry Adunna whether he becomes the champion or not. Idimma was attentive, he wanted to know all his plans. When his friend asked about him and Isissi, he said he was not interested in any girl for now. He never really talked about himself.

So years rolled by and the boys became men. They were still friends and eligible for the year’s tournament. After training with his father uncle, Agudda would go to his friend’s house to spar with him. He taught him how to wrestle. Every time Agudda ask him about his father’s wish, he would tell him: “let the best man win.”

They both won their bouts and got to the final. The whole village was divided; who would win between the two friends? They were severely warned not to see each other before the tournament or they would be disqualified. Two days before the final match, Idimma invited his other two friends to his house, Akukku and Itabba. They talked for hours and later left with cowries.

Adunna and Isissi were coming back from the stream with their calabash on their head when two masked boys suddenly came out from the bush with cutlass in their hands. The girls threw away the calabash and ran. One of the masked boys chased Isissi while the other was after Adunna. She hit her foot on a stone and fell, she was so scared.

“I have not come to harm you, just remove your wrapper and hand it over to me or I will decorate you with this cutlass.” He was so mean. She hesitated for a while because she would be totally naked but the fear of cutlass made her oblige. She was totally naked on the floor, many things ran through her mind. If she was raped, she would no longer be eligible to be married by the village champion. It simply means, she could miss out on marrying the love of her life, Agudda. As the masked guy came closer, she hit him on his groin with all her strength. He screamed with agony and fell. She scrambled up and ran as fast as she could.

“I gave you one single job and you could not do it. You incompetent baboons!” Idimma shouted at his friends. “How did you let her go?" He asked. “She hit me here". Akukku pointed to his groin. He was in so much pain.

“At least I still have her wrapper, we can go on with plan B Idimma.” He continued. Idimma smiled, evil lurked at the corner of his eyes.

Itabba ran straight to Agudda’s house. He checked that his father was not in front of the house before he entered his room. He was sleeping when he entered. He woke him up by shaking him.

“Idimma said you should see him behind the Odom tree at nightfall, it is very urgent.” Agudda nodded his head. When it was night fall, they met at the tree with Itabba and Akukku.

“I have something very important to show you and tell you.” He started. “I want you to be mature with what I want to say my friend. Your beloved Adunna was raped yesterday.” Agudda’s mood suddenly changed.

“I and my boys were coming back from the stream when we saw her, we tried to chase the rapist but he got away.” The other friends nodded to confirm what Idimma was saying. They all looked at Agudda. He was speechless, he sat down and felt depressed. “So what did you do about Adunna?” He finally asked.

They all looked at each other. “By the time we got back, she had left. This is her wrapper soaked in her blood.” He threw the wrapper to his front. He held on to the wrapper, his fist tightened around it. He stood up.

“I have to go now, I will see you tomorrow Idimma.” Idimma smiled, Plan B totally worked.

Agudda was almost home when Itabba ran to him. He bent to catch his breath. “I have…..something to say to you.” He stood then smiled. “I like you but our elders do say: Not all tales by moon light are true. A fighter fights through the day to see the night and through the night to see the day.” They both looked up and it was truly a full moon. Before Agudda could say anything, he ran off very fast.

The village square was filled up, it was the final bout between Agudda and Idimma. Will this be a test of friendship? Will there be a winner? So many questions on the villagers’ mind. The drummers entertained the crowd. The chief stood up, he held the Ikibe shell (a local microphone).

“I welcome you all to this year final wrestling tournament.” The villagers went wild. “A new winner will emerge today and it is a matter of time from now. I present to you the finalists: Idimma and Agudda!” Idimma gallantly entered the arena. His supporters screamed. Agudda didn’t turn up. Everyone turned around to find him but he was not at the village square. Idimma was happy, his plan has totally worked. This would definitely be the first time a winner would emerge without fighting at the final.

The Chief screamed curiously. “Where is Agudda?” The villagers murmured. “The town crier and the villagers should count from 1 to 20 and if he does not show, I will crown Idimma the champion. Let the countdown begin.”

1, 2, 3…….18. Agudda entered the village square to the loud ovation of his supporters. Idimma was stunned. “Why are you just coming?” The Chief asked. “I am sorry your highness, I had to take care of the home front before coming.” He bowed. “It is okay, you are pardoned. Let the bout start.”

They shook hands and started. The first, second, third and fourth round went by.

By the fifth round, they were locked up in battle trying to pin each other. “My friend, Agudda. Look behind you, your Adunna is watching.” Idimma whispered in his ears.

He smiled and refused to respond. As the round ended, he turned back and smiled to Adunna, she smiled back. He looked back at Idimma, who was watching them confused and he laughed out loud. Idimma knew something was wrong but the fight had to continue.

There was Plan C; Agadu. His confidence was restored. It was the sixth round, they were locked in again. Idimma was attacking while Agudda was purely defensive. He watched his friend closely. His father’s voice rang in his head:

You are facing the devil tomorrow my son. You have to be fast as a hare, be observant and be ready to counter every move he makes. Thank God you now know who he is.

Idimma lost focus for a second, Agudda twisted his arm behind his back. “I know you sent your friends to rape Adunna. I will win you today and after today, I don’t ever want to see you again or I will kill you with my bare hands. You will never fulfill your father’s wish because you are evil.” Agudda whispered in his ear. His last statement got him very furious and he brought out the Agadu.


Watch out for Chapter 4 and 5 of this great story. Will Idimma succeed with the agadu? Who truly won? What will be the fate of Ikonna and Ikembba?

Sort:  

Congratulations!,@imbigdee Your post has been upvoted by Reach Out, which is proudly sponsored by @eturnerx. Our goal is to support Nigerian minnows on Steemit. Join our discord group https://discord.gg/NWAkKfn

Benefactor : @bleepcoin

Your post has been upvoted by the @steemiansarena community trail.
Our goal is to support minnows on steemit to help them grow.

You can join our discord server here;
https://discord.gg/ncux8Q
You can support us by donating steem/sbd or delegating SP to steemainsarena trail to acknowledge our mission.

Congratulations @imbigdee! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

You just planted 0.43 tree(s)!


Thanks to @imbigdee

We have planted already 7299.20 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 22154.93
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by imbigdee from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This was wonderful!! I was a bit confused by the first person-second person storytelling at first but once you got into the action I was great. I hope to learn more about Adunna!! she kicked him in the balls!! what a hero!! I love it when women save themselves. Idimma... well... hes a mess. I really guess Agudda will spare Ikonna .. i feel like they didnt actually want to do it. Also Agudda fights at night too so he will be fine to fight blind ;)

not sure whos gonna kill everyone though. Adunna? Idimma? Aggudda? I hope Adunna fights more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59944.92
ETH 2307.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48