Slightly Bent and Fully Hollow.

in #fiction7 years ago

The warm spring air began to give way to the coolness of the autumn wind.

She and I were enjoying a walk through the park, as we often did. This was her favorite time of year. She would always tell me how the chill in the air soothed her. If I’m being honest, it always made me feel slightly uncomfortable, but I wouldn’t dare tell her that. I enjoyed these walks of ours far too much to potentially jeopardize them.

We walked the same path we always did, passing familiar faces offering us warm smiles; doing their best to hide the tint of sadness behind their eyes… nothing out of the ordinary. Until she spoke, that is.

“Wow, look at that tree! I’ve never seen it before!” She began to run towards it; I had to stop her, reminding her that she should be careful not to get too excited. I quickly brought her attention back to the tree so she wouldn’t get down about why she couldn’t get too excited.

“It’s huge! I’ve never seen that tree here before, have you?”

“Nuh-uh” she said sweetly, as we began to approach it.

A tall, hollow oak. It was only just the beginning of fall, but its leaves had withered away permanently some time ago. This tree was old, wise. It’s thick, large twisted branches stretched out in all sorts of directions; each one a homage to the growth it had seen, the years it had witnessed. Objectively, it was ugly amongst the vibrant youth the other trees held… but at the same time, it was beautiful, calming, stoic and grounded in its age. I can’t believe I had never noticed it before. I wonder if…

She broke my train of thought. But I welcomed it.

“I think this one is my favorite.” She spoke softly.

I was a bit surprised.

“Really? All of these trees, all of these colors, and this one is your favorite? How come?”

“Well…” she started “I’m not sure. It’s just so… kind. Look at all the birds and squirrels it takes care of! Not all the trees here are big enough to do that, but this one… this one is huge. It has enough room for everybody, and then it has room to spare! I wanna be like that someday…”

“What, huge?” I teased at her.

“No, silly! Kind… kind enough to take care of other people like this tree takes care of those animals.”

I smiled. I knew what she meant, her words reminded me of something I had heard once…


To remain whole, be twisted… to become straight let yourself be bent. To become full, be hollow.


I decided to keep it to myself. I was proud of what she had come up with on her own.

“Come on love, it’s getting late and you look tired. Let me carry your oxygen tank for you.”

“Okay, Daddy” she said sheepishly.

We walked hand in hand back to the hospital, as we often did.

Sort:  

Beautiful story, I loved all of it. Thank you for taking the time to share this

I'm glad you liked it, thats all I'm looking for : )

A lot of emotion packed into a short space. That's very hard to do, and you did it well. Good foreshadowing, good characterization. I'm glad I found you.

So glad you liked it, thank you! Will definitely have much more to come!

That was a great story! You are very talented and I look forward to more from your blogs.

Thank you man! I'm looking forward to posting more : )

Great sory. Interesting. Amazing tree like no other :-0) thx for sharing

You're welcome! Glad you enjoyed!

Is there a heart problem with the kid? I pity the child. Good story!

Something like that. Thank you! :)

Great story! Will be looking for new entries :) Followed

Thank you very much, I'm glad you liked it : )

So very sweet and a glimpse of suffering.. beautiful fiction. Resteeming.

Thank you glad, you enjoyed it : D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54799.23
ETH 2353.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36