You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New Beginning

in #fiction6 years ago

Heart-breaking. In my children's literature class I taught once No Laughter Here, a short YA novel by american writer Rita Williams-Garcia. It touches on the issue of female genital mutilation. It was a very controversial book, and the topic continues to cause disputes among cultures.
I personally find it disgusting and unacceptable that even today some cultures continue practicing what before any logical mind looks as barbaric, but demand respect in the name of idiosyncrasy.
Great story, powerful narration.

Sort:  

It's disheartening, the stories we hear. I hope these women find help someday. I'll look for the book.

Thanks for stopping by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67661.55
ETH 2619.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72