You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 'There there, never mind,' say Grannies world over.

in #fiction5 years ago

Beautiful story. You made me remember some of O'Henry's stories; the suprising ending, the moral reflection.

We often allow things to get under our skins and fester away until they build up into monsters that have unrealistic proportions.

I happened to watch some days ago another movie that deals with children's pain and fantasy and how imagination can turn their suffering into fantastic adventures.
The first one I had watched was Bridge to Therabithia, based on Katherine Paterson's YA novel (which I had read almost a decade ago); then I watched the visually astounding A Monster Calls, directed by Bayona (nased on Patrick Ness's novel, which I have not read); and a couple of days ago we watched I Kill Giants (based on a graphic novel I knew nothing about).
In all these movies/stories the idea of the monstrous issues we may build out of unfounded speculations or anxieties is key to understand how the avoidance of a problem only leads to more problems.
I, who happen to be one of those who avoids conflict all the time, know about a problem made worse just because of fear of confrontation.
Thanks for the great content you are creating. Blogs like yours are what makes Steemit attractive and valuable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 68503.89
ETH 2535.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52