THE SUICIDE POINT [An original Fiction (PART - 2)]

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

If you haven't read PART-1 of the story, then read it here before continuing.


All surprised, Jeff looked back. There she was sitting on an old bench which was covered in grass and climbers . So relaxed, she looked like a teenager because of that jeans and open shirt that she was wearing and taking a puff of her cigarette.

person-918986_960_720.jpg

"Who are you?" Jeff was surprised to see a girl at such a place. "What are you doing here?"

She stood up. "I am Liza." and walked slowly towards Jeff while smoking her cigarette.

smkoing.jpg

"You should go back to your home Liza. What brought you here." Jeff sounded a little concerned.

"Oh, Weekend brought me here." Liza looked in Jeff's eyes and stood behind him on the cliff. She then looked straight at the sea. "I visit here every Friday night." she added. "Cigarette?" she passed her cigarette to Jeff.

"Sure." Jeff took a puff.

"What an amazing view." She again looked in the front.

But Jeff couldn't see anything except the dark.

"What view?" He shrugged his shoulders and passed back the cigarette.

"Oh that sun right there. Look it is rising from below the sea." Liza pointed her chin ahead but all Jeff could see was the darkness.

"Anyway, why do you come at this place for a weekend. Isn't this place cursed?" Jeff looked at Liza.

"May be for others, but not for me." Liza took the last puff of her cigarette. "I did come here to jump off though the first time." She threw the cigarette down from the cliff while looking at it.

"What? Then what happened." Jeff was shocked.

hill 2people.jpg

"I didn't" said Liza and sat down. Jeff followed.

"Yeah I can see that, but why?" Jeff settled down.

"I saw the view and it saved me." Liza pointed straight at the sea.

"Which view?" Jeff looked ahead to suddenly realize that the sun was slowly, rising !!

"Wow !!" He stared at the morning sun waking up from the sea.

"You know what is the best thing about this cliff." Liza asked.

"Yeah it relieves you from every burden by helping you jump down." Jeff sniffed.

"Nooooo !!" Liza looked at Jeff all surprised. "The best thing about this cliff is that it shows you everything that life shows you. Look below, you will see all your pains and troubles which will call you to take a bounce to finish it all. Then look in the front. It will remind you of all the peaceful and amazing moments and people of your life. Our life is also the same, holding the night and the day both. What matters at night is your patience and what matters in the day is your perspective. Patience will sail you to reach another morning and perspective will make the life either good or bad to you. Reality is never ONE but many. It all depends on which one you choose to see" said Liza.

hill sitting morning.jpg

Jeff was listening and simultaneously lost in thoughts of his life. He looked down and glimpses of his troubles jumped into his mind. He looked ahead and got reminded of Casey and his father. While he was still confused about his life and death, his phone rang.

"Casey !!" He picked the phone in excitement.

"Hey, I tried calling you so many times." Jeff said.

"Where are you Jeff? Your dad called me to ask about you. Are you okay?" Casey sounded tensed.

"Yes, yes I am fine. Thanks for calling Casey" Jeff smiled.

"Where are you right now?" she asked.

"I am around. I will see you in a while. I am really sorry for yesterday" said Jeff.

"I am sorry too but I am done with it Jeff. I can't tolerate your careless behavior anymore." Casey said.

Jeff took a deep breath and took a pause.

"It's okay Casey. I can understand." Jeff said. "It was my fault but we are still friends aren't we?" he questioned.

"Of course." Casey smiled.

"I will see you soon." said Jeff and disconnected the call.

Liza was sitting there listening it all. "Seems like you got some caring people around." Liza looked at Jeff..

"Yes. I just never realized it." Jeff kept the phone in his pocket.

sufi-2323068_960_720.jpg

"Well now you do." Liza said.

"Yes. Don't you have anyone caring for you. You roam around in forests at night. Does you boyfriend allow you that?" Jeff laughed.

"Ha ha. You know, when I went back after the first night I came here to DIE, I realized so many things. I realized that I don't have anybody who really cared for me but then I thought, why the hell does it even matter. I care for myself. That's enough. Why do we always want to be taken care of? We never care for others but we expect them to care for us and this is what happens with everyone and so, there is a majority of people crying for love but no one who could love others. I realized that we should take care of others, instead of expecting others to care of us and if you can't do that, then just stop whining about it and care for yourself if no one else does.

I realized that even if I have nothing, I still have TIME. I will die someday but what after that? That would be even worse because then, I won't be having TIME either. I would not just loose time, but also all the opportunities and possibilities of TRYING anything I wanted.

I realized that DEATH DOESN'T FINISH YOUR LIFE, it just finishes YOU for others. You might still survive wandering in different dimensions with all those regrets." said Liza.

"Woah !! You suddenly sound like a philosopher. But yes. You are right. Even if I lost everything last night, I still have." Jeff paused. "TIME." He smiled while looking at Liza. Liza nodded her head.

Jeff stood up. "Are you hungry? Wanna grab something to eat" Jeff asked.

"Oh no. I am good. I would watch the sunrise for a little bit long" said Liza and dragged out another cigarette to lit it up.

"Are you sure? Because I got to go now. There is a forest to cross. Would you be willing to cross it alone." Jeff dusted himself off.

"Oh relax dude. I am not a kiddo. I crossed it at night, it won't be that tough in the day." Liza smoked again.

couple-2604525_960_720.jpg

"Haha cool. Thank you Liza. I hope to see you again." Jeff waved off a good bye to her. Liza waved back, turned around and murmured "I hope you don't" she said and looked straight.

While on his way back Jeff was very much at peace. Smiling and happy he was walking towards the town to use the precious time he had.

forest-1838332_960_720.jpg

Meanwhile, he thought to call his dad and say sorry. He searched through his jeans' pocket to find a peace of newspaper which he unconsciously kept in his pocket last night. He pulled it out, looked at it, sniffed with a tiny laugh and threw it away and suddenly stood there in shock for a second, with big astonished eyes. He ran back to catch the piece of paper and looked at the image of the person who jumped off the cliff yesterday. He went all pale when he saw that it was no one else but LIZA !!!!

Suddenly those flashes of her, started rotating in his mind with the last words of her story "DEATH DOESN'T FINISH YOUR LIFE, it just finishes YOU for others. You might still survive wandering in different dimensions with all those regrets".

Jeff sat there, trying to understand what happened.

grass-960536_960_720.jpg

He turned back and ran towards the cliff to find Liza. He saw from a distance that there was no one sitting at THE SUICIDE POINT. He walked a few more steps to get a view of the bench where he saw LIZA for the first time but it was empty.

bank-2419765_960_720.jpg

He ran towards the end of the cliff to find Liza when suddenly someone called from behind.

sea-2603823_960_720.jpg

"Jeff. Jeff wait. Don't jump son. Wait."

person-785240_960_720.jpg

Jeff looked behind to find his father.

"Dad what are you doing here." asked Jeff.

His dad came running to him and held him in his arms.

"Oh I searched you everywhere!! I called Casey, I called in your office. They told you got fired. I got so tensed and I came here running to find you.

senior-2642041_960_720.jpg

I had no idea that you were so stressed last night and I asked you to not come back. I wasn't aware son. I wasn't aware" cried his dad.

"I am really sorry too dad for talking like that to you. I love you dad." Jeff hugged him back.

hugging-571076_960_720.jpg

"I love you son. You will find another job. Don't worry. Let's go back and don't you dare come here again." Jeff's dad pointed his finger towards Jeff.

"Yes dad. Let's go." Jeff showed his dad the way back.

His dad walked back towards the forest. Jeff paused and looked below the cliff for a glance and saw a lady standing there on the rocks.

people-2583097_960_720.jpg

She looked above, smiled and waved to Jeff. Jeff was still looking at her surprised and waved back subconsciously. She walked straight, on the water and at every step, she drowned a little to vanish in the sea. It was of course no one else but Liza.

sea-2560449_960_720.jpg

"What are you looking at? Let's go" shouted Jeff's dad and Jeff turned around quickly. "Coming." He raised his hand and ran towards his father.

"Thank god you didn't die. Your ghost wouldn't let me live either." His father walked down the hill.

"Well not everyone turns into a ghost and kill others. Some people turn into angels and save other's as well." Jeff walked after his dad.

guy-1898376_960_720.jpg

"My ass. Hunh." His dad sniffed and they both kept walking.

people-2863541_960_720.jpg

Liza was the last person to die from the suicide point. No one ever jumped off the cliff again, or may be, someone saved them every time. Who knows?

woman-1246571_960_720.jpg

Soon the rumors of a spirit wandering the cliff spread over the town but no one was afraid of her.

sea-2562100_960_720.jpg

The name of the cliff slowly and steadily changed to "THE TURNING POINT". You can understand very well, why? :)

mountain-2596109_960_720.jpg


Special thanks to @tinypaleokitchen for helping me with the writing technicalities, mold up the sentences, edit the story and improving my expressions through words. :)


It was my first time writing fiction. I hope readers don't find it until they read this last sentence. Hehe :p. Thanks for making it till the end :*

Sort:  

I loved this fiction story very much! 👍

It was my first time u know :D. Just realized I have another talent. Hehehe. Thanks for your comment :D

I know you are very talented! ☺ Keep it up. 👍

You're welcome! ☺💚

Thank you :)

You're welcome! ☺

Wow ! you are gifted. I like it the way you twisted it around that piece of paper, Liza being a ghost and how it became a turning point.The analogy that you used around the cliff is also somewhat very interesting.

Also, what's interesting is that the troubles are looked down upon and horizon is shown as a 'possible future' that can either vanish as Liza did in the Sea or can be as bright as the day itself.

Here's my best fav moment:

Liza waved back, turned around and murmured "I hope you don't" she said and looked straight.

I also, got you a typo, 'Jeff's dad pointed his finger towards Jeff [should be cliff i guess]'- You may wish to change that :)

Liza just saved a life and you got yourself a Lazy Reader.

Thank you!

Thanks. I wish people don't read your comment before reading the story :p As you opened the suspense :p

And Jeff's dad was pointing towards him only. I still need to improve my writing skills :P May be you didn't understand what i was saying there actually.

Are you a lazy reader !! It is a big compliment for me if you actually read the whole damn story :p

Thanks a lot :D

lol, alrighty ! You are the Boss around here so I won't mess that up. But I thought you meant it like this.

"I love you son. You will find another job. Don't worry. Let's go back and don't you dare come here again." Jeff's dad pointed his finger towards cliff.

You used the term 'here' which gives a feeling that like everyone else Jeff dad was also afraid of the 'cliff' so he warned him not to come back here.

Anyway, wonderful work and yes I will be sneaking around here for a while. :) I just hope that you don't come up with an extended version of it like CID (I believe holds a record for too many episodes) and some other Indian Soaps. :p Tx

Hahaha, No it's over. I might come up with another story. This was my first time with fiction though. Found good response. So I will continue I guess. But my philosophies will also be on ;) Hehe.

Definitely you should.

Loading...

@driva has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Awesome Post !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59986.17
ETH 2417.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45